Dos and Don’ts: Monochromatic Color Schemes

I love color. In fact, a few years ago, I probably would have looked at you like you were crazy if you asked me to dress in a monochromatic color scheme, but I gave it a try and actually liked it. It was a bit of a challenge to figure out my personal dos and don’ts of wearing monochromatic colors, but I think I’ve finally done just that. This week, I’m going to share three of my tips with you.

Tip #1: Choose a color you are already comfortable with.

If you aren’t comfortable wearing one color from head to toe, don’t start with a color you aren’t comfortable in. It will feel too much like a stretch for you, putting you far outside your comfort zone. Instead, choose a color that you already wear a lot. Then, piece together different shades of that one color. For the first outfit this week, I chose gray. It is a simple color that most people already own, and most people are comfortable in dark colors like black and gray. Here’s what I pieced together:

I wore a light gray sweater and dark gray leggings. I took this picture barefoot, but I would love to see this with a flat, comfortable black shoe. This outfit would be great for a lazy weekend at home. I may get more wear out of it when winter arrives in Chicago. ;)

I’m sure many of you have already worn gray in a monochromatic way, so tell me…

How have you paired different shades of gray in one outfit?

This entry was published on November 21, 2011 at 2:47 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Dos and Don’ts: Monochromatic Color Schemes

  1. Comfortable and stylish! Nice

  2. That’s the best way to be! haha.

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 883 other followers

