Why I’m Not Your Typical Fashion Blogger…

And why you should follow me anyway.  :)

So, hopefully you’ve seen reason #1 and reason #2 for why I am not your typical fashion blogger. I think they’re pretty good reasons, but today’s reason, I think really sets me apart.

I don’t spend a lot of money on clothes. 

Before you roll your eyes and think *yeah right,* hear me out.

I legitimately don’t spend a lot of money on clothes. I often see fashion bloggers post about their frugal budgets of upwards of $400 per month! I think that’s great if you have the money and want to spend it on clothing, but that’s easily more than 5x as much as I spend.

Let me tell you a little about how I shop.

It’s called the clearance rack.

If I have no luck there, I try the sale rack {if there is a difference}.

If I have no luck on the sale rack, I leave the store…99% of the time. My exceptions are stores like TJ Maxx and outlet stores…where I still start on the sale/clearance racks and only meander to the regular priced clothing if absolutely necessary.

And I do very little shopping each month. Typically, I do 1-2 larger shopping trips a year, and in between these trips, I hit up TJ Maxx or Target.

Don’t get me wrong. I love to shop! I love to find great deals! And I love finding new pieces to spice up my closet! But for the most part, I just enjoy remixing pieces I already have, finding new ways to wear the same ol’ pieces. Interesting fact about me?  I still own clothes from college and often mix them in with my newer items. And…it’s ok!

really old mint cardigan :)

Maybe you should follow along and try to pick out the old pieces versus the new ones! Or maybe you should post pics of your own remixes on the SmartSavvyStyle facebook page to inspire others! And maybe, just maybe, you’ll stick around and like my page while you’re there. After all, you never know what you might find.  :)

How often do you shop? How much money do you spend each month on clothing?

P.S. I’m linking up with Neely and Amber for It’s Ok Thursday! And I say:

 It’s ok to be a frugal fashion lover!

What are you ok with today?

This entry was published on June 14, 2012 at 11:34 am. It’s filed under Not So Smart and Savvy..., Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Why I’m Not Your Typical Fashion Blogger…

  1. I can’t imagine having a $400 a month budget! I don’t shop that often and when I do I buy on the clearance/sale rack and hope that I have a coupon. I also hit up outlets because I feel like I can get more for my money.

  2. I love your attitude! It’s so much more challenging to just stick with the sale/clearance racks and leave the store if you don’t find anything! So many times I just hate leaving with an empty cart – which is ridiculous! You’re inspiring me to mix it up more with what I have – thank you! :)

  3. I really enjoyed reading all of your “Why I’m Not…” posts. I definitely don’t spend that much on clothes either. Though I wish I COULD! Someday… :)

  4. I love that you remix your stuff…we should all do that more. When I think I need a new outfit .. I just try to look at what I have and create some new looks and tada … new outfits!

    I think it is way more creative to mix what you have then just keep buying new stuff!

    New follower!!

    ♥ Shia

  5. Pingback: Heather from SmartSavvyStyle | the browsing brunette

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 879 other followers

