One Piece, Three Ways: Black Pencil Skirt

Welcome! If this is your first time reading one of my One Piece, Three Ways posts, let me tell you a little about how they work. I take 1 piece from my closet and make 3 different outfits out of it. I post 1 look per day, Tuesday-Thursday. Then, on Saturday, I post options available for purchase so that you can add a similar item to your closet if you choose to do so.

I recognize that we may not have the same taste or style. We may not have the same professional dress code. We may not frequent the same types of places outside of work. Because of this, I also pin outfits related to the posts so you can have even more inspiration.

This week, I’m styling the black pencil skirt. Tuesday, I posted a super professional look – the skirt suit! And yesterday, I posted a business casual look – complete with leopard pumps and a statement necklace!

Today’s look: Playful

Say what?!

Yes, your pencil skirt, as professional as it is, can still be a little playful. Check it out.

Fun fact about this outfit? I bought the Cubs shirt to wear as part of my Halloween costume 3+ years ago! Who knew I would one day wear it with a pencil skirt!

You might not initially think about advertising your favorite sports team with your pencil skirt, but it works. Why? Because my shoes and jewelry are casual. See the flats? Perfect for this more casual look. And the red belt? It adds a punch of fun!

I love this look, but you may not be sold on the idea of wearing a tee with your pencil skirt.  For numerous other ways to wear your pencil skirts, check out my pencil skirts pin board on Pinterest.

Would you ever wear your pencil skirt in a playful way?

P.S. I’m linking up with Neely, Amber, and Tracy for It’s Ok {and thankful} Thursday! And I say:

It’s ok that the hubs and I celebrated his birthday with a pie at 7:30 a.m. on Tuesday. It’s ok that I think my husband rocks house for taking my blog pics! And it’s ok that I took a minute of your time to brag on him. :)

What are you ok with today?

This entry was published on June 28, 2012 at 12:23 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “One Piece, Three Ways: Black Pencil Skirt

  1. Diana on said:

    Definitely never though of pairing it with a tshirt but it looks cute and chic. Love it!
    xx,
    Di
    http://cityandburbsblog.com

  2. i LOVE the idea of pairing a chic pencil skirt with a graphic tee! so creative!!!!

    still being [molly]

    • Thanks, Molly! It’s a pretty fun look. I’ve run into spirit days at work where they ask you to support your college, favorite sports team, etc. This is a great way to do just that and still look professional! Thanks for stopping by! :)

  3. Cute outfit! Pie for breakfast? Definitely okay!

  4. i love this series! super cute.

  5. re: your comment
    My grandmother is a hairstylist, so she has always done natural hair and skin masques. My late great-granny lived during the Great Depression and always had unique beauty ideas.
    I keep a spreadsheet of foods and what they’re good for…weird, huh?

  6. Pingback: Black Pencil Skirt: From My Closet to Yours « Smart and Savvy Style

  7. I’m trying to get past the Cubs logo, but I love the idea of t casual T with pencil skirt. That is the PERFECT justification. Thankyouverymuch.

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 881 other followers

