Industry Insight: Meet the Chicago Shopping Team

Yesterday, I gave you a little preview of what Chicago Shopping is all about! Today, I’m taking it a step further. Today, you will get to meet the members of the Chicago Shopping team! And we’re getting personal!

I have met each of these ladies, and let me tell you, they might be some of the nicest people you’ll meet in Chicago!

In their own words…

Wendy Wollenberg

Title: Editor

Background/experience: I have worked at a wide variety of Chicago publications and even wrote my own guidebook to my beloved hometown!

Fun fact: I am an avid yoga student and will (one day!) get my certification to teach.

Fave place to shop in Chicago: Oh, there are so many! If I had to choose just one, I would go with Nordstrom on Michigan Avenue. If you can’t find something there, you don’t really need it.

#1 wallet buster: I will always spend money on good shoes, good skincare and good sushi.

Best part about living/working in Chicago: You can be in the chicest, hottest spot and the people will still be nice and friendly (for the most part!).

Fave Chicago Shopping piece: They’re all my babies, but I have to say I have a soft spot for the shopping spree photo gallery with Chicago Bears star Israel Idonije. I’m a true-blue fan!

Darla Weaver

Title: Writer

Background/experience: I’m a fresh graduate of DePaul University where I studied Communications and Media Studies and minored in Journalism. My writing expertise lies in fashion, beauty and unsolicited pop culture commentary.

Fun fact: I hope to own an English Bulldog in the near future so I can name him Sir Charles Barkley.

Fave place to shop in Chicago: My favorite place to shop in Chicago is the Urban Outfitters Surplus on Clark Street. I always score the best deals there and always manage to walk out with at least one item for a steal.

#1 wallet buster: Nail polish, I have quite an impressive collection.

Best part about living/working in Chicago: To me, the best part of living in Chicago is that it is a walking city. I love being able to wander and come across cool and unique places in the city.

Fave Chicago Shopping piece: My favorite Chicago Shopping piece is the ‘Celebrity Target Practice: Style Hits & Misses.’ I just have a good time playing ‘fashion police’ with the stars.

Destiny Gdalman

Title: Executive Producer

Background/experience: Hard-core city reporter turned soft by a love of features and all things fashion.

Fun fact: My sisters and I are getting matching tattoos!

Fave place to shop in Chicago: I have a new little one at home and this great store called Kooky just opened in the North Bridge Mall on Michigan Ave. I pretty much pick up something new every payday.

#1 wallet buster: Shoes. I don’t feel guilty in investing in great-looking, comfortable heels that won’t kill my feet.

Best part about living/working in Chicago: I live and work close to the Loop. I love all the shopping, nightlife and restaurants Chicago has to offer.

Fave Chicago Shopping piece: I don’t have one favorite, but I love browsing our Things to Do page for new and upcoming shopping events and dining out options in the city.

Laura Fitzgerald

Title: Producer

Background/experience: Recent DePaul University graduate with an MA in Journalism. Past internship experiences include Metromix Chicago and Groupon among others.

Fun fact: I studied abroad in Australia for six months in college

Fave place to shop in Chicago: Scoop NYC, Lori’s Shoes

#1 wallet buster: Denim-I can never spend too much on a great pair of jeans—they last forever.

Best part about living/working in Chicago: There’s never a dull moment-Chicago always has something new to see and do. I also love that I don’t have to drive anywhere!

Favorite Chicago Shopping piece:  This piece inspired me to adopt a pet of my own!

This the information I wanted to know about the Chicago Shopping team. What do you want to know? 

Plus, follow Chicago Shopping on facebook, pinterest, and twitter! There’s even a Chicago Shopping “pin to win” sweepstakes going on right now! Get the deets on their facebook page!

I have one more Chicago Shopping post coming your way tomorrow! Bloggers, you aren’t going to want to miss this one!

This entry was published on August 8, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers, Smart and Savvy...Chicago, Smart and Savvy...Shopping and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 881 other followers

