Blogger of the Month: A Classy Southern Wife

A few months ago I started hosting a blogger of the month club here at SmartSavvyStyle. The blogging world is a tight community, but it’s also a massive one. There are so many wonderful bloggers out there, and it’s hard to keep up! I started the blogger of the month club to showcase one new blogger each month. In the process, we have become our own community, champions for other members. Today, I’m excited to welcome the 3rd member of the blogger of the month club:

Christin from A Classy, Southern Wife

Adorable, right?

I first met Christin on Twitter. I had just purchased my minimalist running shoes, and Christin reached out to me to warn me about the dangers of running in minimalist shoes without proper training. She truly went above and beyond to make sure I had the information I needed to make good decisions during my runs. I’m so thankful for that, for people like Christin, and I’m so pleased to welcome her into the blogger of the month club!

To get us started, I asked Christin to share a little bit about herself and her blog.

In her own words…

My name is Christin and I blog at Classy, Southern Wife. My blog began as a Pinterest board of sorts (long before the days of Pinterest) to save and share wedding inspiration photos with my mom. Once I started blogging, I was addicted, and it eventually morphed into the lifestyle blog it is today. If you’re into reading about newlywed marriage, running, healthy eating, fashion and everything in-between, I hope you stop by sometime.

{I hope you’ll stop by Christin’s blog too!}

To get to know Christin a little better, I asked her several questions and am sharing her responses with you below.

1. If you could be a professional athlete, what sport would you choose and why?

Running is such a huge passion of mine that I would love to be an Olympic marathoner for even just one day. The crowds, the adrenaline…it would be such a rush!

{oh to be athletic like this girl!}

2. How do your day-to-day activities fit into your active lifestyle?

I’m lucky in that I do most of my work from home, so I’m able to shift my schedule around to fit in running, yoga, etc. I also try to get my long workouts done during the week while my husband is at work so we can enjoy the weekends together. Part of maintaining an active lifestyle is to consider your workouts a necessary part of your day, and always carve time out for them. If you include your workouts in your everyday “to-do” list, just like your other priorities, you’re more likely to fit them in.

3. How does your lifestyle translate to your blog?

My blog is a bit of a hodge-podge, which I think is a pretty good description of my life. I’m a wife, a runner, a cook, a PR professional…the list goes on. And I want my blog to represent all aspects of my life– not just one.

4. What would you say to someone looking to start or build a blog?

Don’t start a blog to make money or to gain a ton of followers. Start a blog to share certain parts of your life and build relationships with other bloggers. If you’re passionate about your blog, it will show, and people will want to read along. And if one day you’re able to monetize it, then that’s great. Also, always be yourself. Don’t try to portray yourself as someone different online.

5. How do you see your blog changing and improving over the next 5 years?

I hope that we start a family within the next 5 years, and “motherhood” will be an added topic on my blog. I don’t see any drastic changes; my blog will continue to be a diary of sorts of my life, and I hope people continue to read along.

{mommy bloggers, beware! you may have competition!}

I could never tell you everything you would want to know about Christin in a set of 5 questions, so go check out Christin’s blog and follow her on Twitter for updates on running, fashion, food, and all of the life in between.

What questions do you have for Christin?

Are you a blogger? Do you want to join the blogger of the month club? All bloggers are welcome! I would love to spread the word about your talent! Just like SmartSavvyStyle on facebook and send me an email at hbur3234 at gmail dot com.

Plus, I’m hosting a giveaway! Check it out and enter to win a beautiful handmade camera strap from You’re a Hoot! Designs!

This entry was published on September 7, 2012 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Blogger of the Month: A Classy Southern Wife

  1. yay! It’s so nice to meet you Christin! Can’t wait to learn more!

What Do You Think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 881 other followers

