Dos and Don’ts: Monochromatic Color Schemes

I hope everyone had a wonderful time of thanksgiving with family and friends yesterday! In case you missed my previous posts this week, I shared two of my personal tips for wearing monochromatic color schemes. In this post, I will share my final tip with you.

Tip #3: Wear pieces with different textures.

Any time you have on a lot of the same color, even in different shades, it can start to look a little boring. Adding texture keeps the look interesting. Pair corduroy, satin, or tweed with other cotton pieces in the same color. For this look, I chose a a corduroy pant, but I also chose a cardigan with a shimmer to it.

I admit I cheated a little in this outfit. Because the color I chose covered me from head to toe, I added an olive green satin shirt and a brown and khaki scarf. My justification was that these colors are all in the same family so they don’t technically add a pop of color. This enables me to still pull off a monochromatic look.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Which textures do you like to pair together when wearing the same shade of color?

 

This entry was published on November 25, 2011 at 4:29 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

