November Newsletter

Happy December, everyone! As we welcome December, we are saying goodbye to a fun month: November! In this post, I will share some of the things I accomplished and events I attended in November.

I kicked off the month with a women’s retreat with some really amazing women from my church. We ate, talked, and learned more about prayer. It was the perfect start to the busy month that followed.

The hubs and I enjoyed a nice dinner with our friends S & V who graciously hosted us in their home. S & V always cook plenty of food and spoil us with late night coffee. 🙂

Ever since the hubs and I started dating, he has been telling me about this 10 cent wing joint in Ravenswood. Every Monday night, they offer 10 cent wings, so one Monday in November, I took the train to that area after work and met the hubs for dinner. I think we had more than 30 wings! But for $3, who can pass that up? Check out their menu here: http://www.therailbar.com/

We also checked out a new spot, at least new to us, called Huettenbar. Our good friends M & K called us one Friday night and invited us to meet them there. It was completely last minute and spontaneous, and I loved every minute of it! Read more about the Huettenbar here: http://www.huettenbar.com/

Chicago held its Lights Festival on Nov. 19th. I met some friends to watch the parade. I saw Donald and Daffy Duck, Kermit the Frog, and even Santa!

Hello, Kermit

We also met our friends from the Huettenbar, M & K, for a fun night at Chili’s at the beginning of Thanksgiving week. Nothing like a little 2 for $20 and quality time with good friends.

On Wednesday, Nov. 23, I went to the Daley Plaza to see the Chicago Christmas tree lighting. I saw a little preview of the A Christmas Story musical and heard other local groups sing some fun Christmas songs. It was the perfect thing to put me in the holiday spirit.

Hello, Christmas!

Thanksgiving morning, the hubs and I ran in the Edison Park Turkey Trot 5k. It was super cold! I decided that maybe it’s time to invest in long running pants for the Chicago winter. 🙂

When does this thing start??

Finally finished!

And of course, what is November without Black Friday shopping? I found some great deals and made real progress on my Christmas shopping! I would definitely call it a success!

On a more disappointing note, I supported my team in the Iron Bowl the Saturday after Thanksgiving. We lost. But I still bleed orange and blue. War Eagle!

As soon as Thanksgiving was over, I decorated for Christmas!!

Stockings hung with care...

It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas!

Oh, and one more thing…I wrote a book! Maybe I should repeat that: I wrote a book! In November, I participated in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). Participants sign up to write 50,000 words in one month! I got a late start but eventually caught up, finishing my novel on Nov. 30. A little last minute, but I finished in time to “win” as you can see below. 🙂

Woot!

So tell me, how was your November?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter or like SmartSavvyStyle on facebook!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, or twitter links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!

– Smart and Savvy Style

This entry was published on December 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “November Newsletter

  1. Oh my word! I was just thinking about those 10 cent wings the other day! J and I went there on our first unofficial almost date after ice skating! So yummy! Can’t beat the price either. 🙂 love your tree and your recap of your month! I’ve been totally cracking up at your fashion photos…especially the last post. Does D take the photos or do you set up a camera!? Inquiring minds want to know! Also, will we be Able to read this novel?! 🙂

    • Oh, that’s so fun! D and I also did an ice skating date pretty early on. I would like a repeat this year, but so far, he hasn’t agreed to it. 🙂 D does take the photos. I have to work around his schedule and think ahead sometimes, but it works out. We don’t have a good camera, though, so he takes them on my phone. High class. 🙂 I hope to self-edit the novel in January. We’ll see if it makes it to a publisher. Wish me luck! Hope all is well on the farm! Tell the fam hi!

  2. great photos! I am so excited for Christmas! and thank you for following my blog. I love smart and savvy style 🙂

  3. Busy month!!! You wrote a novel???? What have i done with my time… I didn’t even blog!!

    • haha, it isn’t exactly publisher-ready, but yes, I wrote a book. It’s amazing what you can find time to do when you commit to it. It helped that the website that tracks NaNoWriMo has a bar graph to track your progress. I’m a sucker for a bar graph. 🙂 Are you going to start blogging again?

What Do You Think?

