Smart and Savvy Packing Tips

I am an expert packer. I am also [not] humble about it. Unfortunately, this means I now pack for everyone: myself, the hubs, the dogs (if they are going), friends who are moving, etc. So I thought I would record my packing strategies today as I pack to go “home for the holidays.”

1.  Look at the weather.

This is crazy important because you don’t want to pack all warm weather clothes and be freezing or pack all cold weather clothes and look silly! So before you do anything else, look at the weather for your destination!

It’s supposed to be 60s and sunny where I’m going. No white Christmas for me!

2.  Choose a basic color.

There are times when I break this rule, but for the most part, I recommend choosing one basic color (e.g., black or brown) and create all of your outfits around that color. This makes packing shoes, which take up the most room in your bag, a lot easier! It also helps if you are going on a long trip and can re-wear any of the basic items, like a camisole or pants, with other pieces.

Not sure how to choose? You may want to start with shoes. Which shoes are you just dying to pack? Can you create multiple outfits around that pair of shoes?  What color are they?  Now, you have a color to guide the rest of your packing!

I decided to pack my new boots (love!), so I will be using black (with a touch of brown) as my basic color.

You've seen these before, yes?

3.  Make a list.

This is one of the most important steps in my opinion. I do okay without a list, but it is so much quicker if I have a list to work from. It also enables me to check that I packed everything a little easier once everything is in my bag.

If you aren’t sure where to start, make categories like clothes, shoes, bathroom stuff, electronics, etc., and go from there. Make sure you take into account how long you will be there and pack enough to keep you clothed.

Personally, I’m taking into account the clothing I may get for Christmas! 🙂

My list is not complete yet...

4. Lay everything out.

I like to lay everything out on the bed. This allows me to decide if I’ve forgotten anything like socks, jewelry, etc. I then fold everything up and lay it aside for the next stage of packing.

Some examples…

A little of this, a little of that

a little more of this, a little less of that

 5. Begin packing!

After everything is folded and stacked on the bed, I like to open my luggage and lay it on the bed next to all of my stuff. That way, I can visualize how everything will fit inside. This part is a little like magic. I have no explanation.

My only advice? Practice.

abracadabra

Like magic!

A final random tip: Wash your sheets before you leave. That way, when you come home, you can collapse onto clean sheets as visions of sugar plums dance in your head. 🙂

Merry Christmas Eve!

Are you traveling for the holidays this year?

This entry was published on December 24, 2011 at 5:41 pm. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Smart and Savvy Packing Tips

  1. Really good post! First of all, I love the boots! Second, your tips were really helpful. I repacked my suitcase after reading this post and I must say….. It really helped! I got so much more stuff inside this time around!

  2. I’ll try to keep your sheets as fresh as possible for your awaited return. : )

What Do You Think?

