January Newsletter

January will be over in just 2 short days! How are you doing on your resolutions? Are you still going strong? Have you fallen off the wagon? I didn’t make any resolutions but instead chose 1 word to represent my year. You can read about this concept here. My 1 word is new. I want to fill my year with new and exciting things. New adventures. New friends. New places.

While I haven’t fallen off the wagon, I haven’t done a whole lot of new things this month. Honestly, I haven’t done a whole lot of anything. Winter weather finally hit, so I blame that.

I did do some shopping this month. Look at these fun things I bought:

Although it hasn’t been too exciting, this month has included a couple of awesome date nights, one of which was at our favorite pizza place in Chicago, Pequod’s. It also included a fun night in with good friends and a chili cook-off. Today, I indulged in a pedicure and chose this fun color for my toes. Doesn’t it make you happy just looking at it?

With Fitness Fridays launching this month, I decided to set a fitness goal for January. In addition to my regular workouts, I wanted to run 1 mile every week day. I’ll be honest. I failed. I missed my run twice. One day, I chose not to run at lunch in exchange for a yoga class but promised myself I would stop by the gym in my office building after work. I forgot. Completely. I realized it when I was just a few blocks away from my house. And, unfortunately, the wind chill was in the negatives that night, so running outside in shorts was not an option. (I have yet to invest in long running pants.) The other day I missed, I just had a horrible stomach ache and could barely walk much less run. So, I didn’t quite meet my goal. But the other days, I did really good about running and even increased my speed to under 10 min!

That’s about all I can think of. Maybe I will have a more exciting February! 🙂

What did you do in January?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter @SmartSavvyStyle or like my Facebook page!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, or twitter links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!

– Smart and Savvy Style

This entry was published on January 30, 2012 at 12:47 am. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “January Newsletter

  1. I love your resolution of NEW.. Trying new things is one of the best things you can do for yourself. Great post!

    Lee Anne
    http://itsawant.com/

    • Thanks! I found the idea for “one word” last year and loved it! I also made a list of a few things that I want to do to make sure I live up to my word. I’m pretty excited about it. Thanks for visiting my blog!

What Do You Think?

