Dressing for Your Shape: From My Closet to Yours

This week, we looked at three shapes: pear, hourglass, and straight or rectangle. Today, I’m going to share links to styles that I think will work for each shape. This is totally just my opinion. I’ve never actually been most of these shapes, so I’m not speaking from experience. These options are based on how I would apply the rules in theory. I would love to hear from you about what actually works for your body. Have you tried any of these styles? Did they work for you? Why or why not?

Pear Shape

1. Choose tailored pants.

Anne Klein Classic Pants available at Macy’s here – $64.98

What I like about them:

  • No front pockets – means no awkward gaping or pulling
  • Flare leg – offers balance to a wider hip

Ellen Tracy Pull On Wide Leg Pants available at Macy’s here – $17.99

What I like about them:

  • Flat front – means no detail that draws the eye to the waist or hips
  • Wide leg – offers balance to a wider hip

2.  Add focus up top

Collective Concepts Tie-Neck Top available at Dillard’s here – $27.65

What I like about it:

  • Tie neck – draws the eye up, away from the hips
  • Flutter sleeves – offers balance to a wider hip

Vince Camuto Colorblock Keyhole Blouse available at Dillard’s here – $69

What I like about it:

  • Colorblocking – draws the eye up, away from the hips
  • Stripes – adds focus to the chest and shoulders

Hourglass Shape

1. Choose the perfect sheath or wrap dress

Alex & Ava Twist Waist Jersey Dress available at Nordstrom here -$78.90

What I like about it:

  • Silhouette – hugs curves to show off shape
  • Scoop neck – covers cleavage for a less overtly sexy look

Chaps Surplice Faux-Wrap Dress available at Kohl’s here – $54

What I like about it:

  • Silhouette – hugs curves to show off shape
  • V-neck – shows off figure for a sexier look

Straight or Rectangle Shape

1. Create the illusion of curves

Maurice’s Geometric Top with Braided Belt available here – $29

What I like about it:

  • Cut – adds automatic curves with dolman sleeves and slightly flared bottom half
  • Belt – draws the eye to a waist that would otherwise be obscure

Banana Republic Embroidered One-Shoulder Shirt available here – $34.99

What I like about it:

  • Neckline – adds a touch of femininity
  • Tie waist – draws the eye to a waist that would otherwise be obscure

Will you be adding any of these styles to your closet?

This entry was published on February 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

