Trend Alert: Pastels

In case you haven’t heard, pastels are a spring trend this year!

I don’t know about you, but I have a love/hate relationship with pastels. On the one hand, they are so pretty and feminine. On the other hand, they do not always mesh well with my skin tone. So, from personal experience, I’ve put together a few tips that I personally consider when wearing pastels.

1. Choose colors that you know work for you. Pale pink doesn’t work quite as well for me as, say, a pastel green. While I still wear the occasional light pink piece, I typically add other colors to the outfit to balance out the pink…which leads me to my next point.

2. Mix in colors that do work for you. Maybe pale pink isn’t my color, but shades of brown are.  In that case, I know I can wear a pink top with a brown sweater, jacket, etc.

3. Try pastel accessories rather than shirts, skirts, or dresses. This is a really simple way to rock the trend without worrying about it washing you out. Wear colors that you know look good on you, and add a pastel bracelet, shoe, or belt.

Here is one example of how I used some of these tips:

For more pastel inspiration, check out my Pinterest board: All Things Pastel.

Do you think you will use any of these tips this spring?

This entry was published on February 24, 2012 at 1:36 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Trend Alert: Pastels

  1. I know what you mean about pastels being difficult – but I think you have the right idea about mixing them with other colors. The green looks so cute on you! I think blue would look good too. 🙂

What Do You Think?

