February Newsletter

As I sit and stare at the cursor on my computer screen, I realize that I am overwhelmed. I have laundry to do and lunches to make. I have personal goals to achieve. I have friends to e-mail and calls to make. And it’s about this time that I have to stop and remember, I can’t do it all…and I don’t have to. I remind myself to breathe, to just continue through strong and steady. These, after all, are personal deadlines. Deadlines I put on myself. Deadlines that I can’t blame anyone else for. But also, deadlines that I don’t have to answer to anybody else about. Sure, I have to do the laundry (unless, of course, hubs can start wearing his underwear inside out) and I have to make lunches (it saves us money in the long run), but these other things – they can wait if I need them to. And, I can breathe.

February flew by. Mine was filled with love and laughter. I hope yours was too. Here’s a little synopsis.

Fashion

I thought I’d share with you my favorite outfit from February. It was a close call, but ultimately, I went with the basic tee (below). I think as fashion bloggers, it’s easy to forget how nice and clean simple can look. And, honestly, I am a simple dresser. I like to be cute and comfortable. I don’t want to be pulling on my clothes all day or suffocating behind the scenes. I want to wear things that anyone can buy from Gap, The Limited, or J. Crew. I want to find good deals on clothes at stores like TJMaxx and Marshalls. I don’t walk on a runway. And as much as I squint, I can’t make the CTA platforms look like the red carpet. So, I chose this look as my favorite February look because, well, it’s just me. Plain and simple.

What was your favorite February look?

Fiction (and nonfiction)

One of my loves in life is reading. Here’s a list of what I read in February:

  • The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson
  • The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht (currently reading)

What are you reading?

Fitness

You might remember that my January fitness goal was to run 1 mile every week day in January. As January came to a close, I started thinking about what I wanted to do in February. I’ve been emphasizing my stretching routine a little more, and I’m excited about that. I’ve also started training for the Shamrock Shuffle 8k. My one word for 2012 is new. To reach a new fitness goal, I knew I wanted to run a longer race this year. I’ve only ever run a 5k before. So, I added a longer race to my 2012 bucket list and signed myself up for the shuffle. I’m full speed ahead in my training and am up to a 4 mile run (8.5 total for the week).

How are you doing on your fitness goals?

Friends and Family

There are few things better than friends and family. In February, the hubs and I tried out a new pizza place with new friends. I love pizza, and I couldn’t live in a better city for it. This time, we tried Phil’s Pizza d’Oro. It was such a fun time with such a sweet couple.

You might remember that little game that occurred in February. I believe they call it the Super Bowl. Yes? We attended a low key Super Bowl party at our friends’ S & V. We are so thankful for their hospitality and love spending time with them. I also met V later in the month for lunch, manicures, and coffee. It was much-needed girl time. And I’m pretty sure we should do it again, right, V?

February also included that little commercial holiday called Valentine’s. The hubs and I didn’t fight the Valentine’s day crowds. Instead, we waited a bit and celebrated with a glorious couples’ massage at Thee European Spa. It was ah-mazing, and I look forward to receiving gift certificates from each of you reading this. 😉

If this weren’t enough, we also went to Lawry’s for my mother-in-law’s birthday this month. It happened to be Chicago Restaurant Week, so we indulged happily in their prime rib and finished it off with mini desserts. Yum!

What a month, right?! Thanks for letting me share it with you! I would love to hear about your month as well, so leave a comment and let me know what you’ve been up to!

Now, I realize that I have to go back to my monstrous to do list. But I have to say, I feel better already. I just had to have a little faith.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

So how was your February?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter @SmartSavvyStyle or like my Facebook page!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, or twitter links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!

– Smart and Savvy Style

This entry was published on March 5, 2012 at 1:26 am. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “February Newsletter

  1. Sounds like it was a full February indeed! You crammed an awful lot into such a short month. Very impressive.
    For us, February marked the first full month we lived in Chicago. Pretty exciting. Now, if I could just get a few pictures hung, we’d be in business. 😉

  2. I can’t recall how I found your blog, but I like it! (I think maybe Twitter. That would make sense.) I think your recent outfit choice is very comfortable yet classic looking! I think fashion is overrated (but not style).

    Currently I’m reading Shucked, which is this memoir about a woman who quits her job to work on an oyster farm for a year. I can’t put it down! What did you think of The Tiger’s Wife?

    Ugh, I have a 10K I’m running in May that I desperately need to start training for. I’ve run a bunch of 5Ks and a couple of 10Ks in the past, and my personal distance record is 10 miles. I’m hoping to get back to that this year (currently I’m running about 2 miles without feeling like death, haha). Sounds like an 8K is a great way to push yourself!

    • Thanks! And thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      I will have to look into Shucked. It sounds interesting, and I’m always looking for new books to read! I like The Tiger’s Wife so far.

      A 10k is awesome! That is a really good goal! Are you using a particular training program? I am using Hal Higdon’s program for the 8k, and it’s really good.

      Thanks again for reading! I love meeting new readers!

What Do You Think?

