Style Tip: Mixing Patterns

Raise your hand if you mix patterns. Raise your other hand if you want to mix patterns but want some suggestions for how to do it. Well, you’re in luck! If you already mix patterns, you can see some fun outfit ideas for inspiration. If you want to mix patterns but aren’t sure how, you’ll find a few tips for mixing and matching things already in your closet.

Yesterday’s tip was to start with baby steps by selecting patterns with similar colors. I hope you’re excited to put that tip to good use! Today’s tip might put you a little further outside of your comfort zone, but I hope you’ll give it a try!

style tip #2: when in doubt, use leopard print.

This may seem like an odd tip. I’ll admit, if I read it on someone’s blog, I’d probably just roll my eyes and continue on. But, I’ve found that leopard print really becomes a neutral when paired with almost any other pattern.

For this outfit, I chose a striped button-up, ivory cashmere sweater, and leopard shoes. The stripes and leopard work together to create a fun look. The sweater tones down the patterns, so if you still doubt my advice, mix in some neutral pieces like I did for this picture.

Not inspired by this look? Follow my Pretty in Patterns board on Pinterest for more pattern inspiration.

Do you think leopard print can act as a neutral?

This entry was published on March 7, 2012 at 1:43 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Style Tip: Mixing Patterns

  1. I just said this yesterday to someone else, but it applies here too: You can never (well hardly ever) go wrong w a leopard print shoe!

  2. I love leopard! I’m dying to mix leopard and polka dots. Your outfit is great!

What Do You Think?

