March Newsletter

I was so busy last week that I didn’t even realize last Sunday was time to post the March newsletter! Please forgive me and accept this little synopsis of my month…a little late.

Fashion

First, I thought I’d share with you my favorite outfit from March. This was actually the very first outfit I posted in March. I love the casual look and the bright pop of color in the scarf.

What was your favorite March look?

Fiction (and nonfiction)

Apparently, I did not read enough in March. I would love to blame it on shorter commutes…but to no avail.

Here’s a list of what I read in March:

  • A Good and Perfect Gift by Amy Julia Becker
  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht (still currently reading…)

I’m still trying to get through The Tiger’s Wife. I started it last month, took a break to read A Good and Perfect Gift, and came back to it recently to finish it. I’m struggling with the suddenly omniscient protagonist. Did anyone else notice that?

What are you reading?

Fitness

I continued training for and ran the Shamrock Shuffle 8k. I finished in a little over 54 minutes. It wasn’t my best time, but I enjoyed it and was really proud I finished.

How are you doing on your fitness goals so far this year?

Friends and Family

There are few things better than friends and family, and my March was filled with lots of friends and family. The hubs and I kicked off the month with a spontaneous breakfast with our friends S & V at Elly’s Pancake House in the Old Town area. We also celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a delicious all-you-can-eat steak dinner at Texas de Brazil.

One fun part of my month was meeting fellow blogger and new Chicagoan Molly from a foreign land. We met up at the Hancock Building where I introduced her to the best view of the city…from the women’s bathroom, of course!

A sweet friend of mine also got married in March. I went to her wedding and reception, where the hubs met me after work. It was such a fun evening filled with love and laughter…and a little Irish dancing! This was a first for me, but I absolutely loved it!

On St. Patrick’s Day, the hubs and I met our good friends S & V again for V’s birthday lunch. We went to Mollie’s Public House in Riverside, a southwest suburb. I went all out and ordered a burger in honor of St. Paddy’s Day (wait, what?), but hubs did have the corned beef and cabbage. 🙂

It may seem odd, since I’m from a town in Alabama and currently living in Chicago, that one of my best childhood friends lives nearby, but it’s true, and I was so blessed to meet up with E last month. We spent the afternoon shopping and catching up like old friends…probably because we are! I don’t see E nearly enough, despite her close proximity, and I’m so grateful for every chance I get to spend time with her.

A couple of coffee dates and happy hours later, I found myself at the end of the month, running the Shamrock Shuffle 8k with my new friend, S.

S is a personal trainer in the Chicago area, so if you’re in need of one, let me know, and I’ll send you her information! She was a perfect running buddy, and I hope we get to do it again some time soon!

As if this weren’t enough, I managed to squeeze in a book club meeting where we discussed A Good and Perfect Gift and, drum roll, please…a very exciting interview with the VP of Trend Merchandising and Fashion Direction of Belk, a southern department store! Next week, I’ll be sharing some of the things I learned on this call, the hot trends for spring, and a very special offer from Belk! So make sure you come back next week!

I’m hoping to slow down a little in April, but we’ll see. I do love making friends, am always up for new challenges, and enjoy exploring this great city of mine!

So how was your March?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter @SmartSavvyStyle or like my Facebook page!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, or twitter links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading!

– Smart and Savvy Style

This entry was published on April 8, 2012 at 1:58 pm. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

