April Newsletter

Blogging is a time consuming hobby. Being active on social media can be even more so. This weekend, the hubs and I had a quick getaway to Lake Geneva, WI. So I set aside blogging and social media – for the most part – while we were gone. Now that we are back home, I sit trying to catch up on my blog and summarize the events of April!

Fashion

To kick off the post, I thought I’d share with you my favorite outfit from April.

I think this outfit is the perfect illustration of our April weather too. Capris and flip-flops? Sure, sometimes. A sweater? Yep, still a necessity. Our April weather was cooler than our March weather. I’m hoping we can finally kiss the cold weather goodbye in May. 🙂

What was your favorite April look?

Fiction (and nonfiction)

One of my loves in life is reading. Here’s a list of what I read in February:

  • The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht (finally finished!)
  • Just Kids by Patti Smith
  • Let’s Roll by Lisa Beamer (currently reading)

What are you reading?

Fitness

After running the Shamrock Shuffle 8k in March, I found myself struggling with my fitness goals. I knew I wanted to continue running and maintain my fitness in that area, but I no longer had a specific plan to follow like I did when I was training for the shuffle. I found myself wanting to run but wanting to go easy on myself (e.g., I’ll just run a couple of miles). Luckily, I have a good friend at work who is a much stronger runner than I am. When we run together, I don’t have to worry about going too easy on myself. But I also know I can’t depend on someone else for my fitness goals, so I think it’s time to find something new to train for. 🙂

How are you doing on your fitness goals?

Friends and Family

I spent the first week of April sick, so there wasn’t much excitement to kick off the month. But, by the first weekend, I was back in action. We painted Easter eggs with our friends D & C and their precious twin girls. We celebrated Easter with family here in Chicago. I made a delicious peach cobbler and lemon squares (a favorite of the hubs and his dad). It was a wonderful day with wonderful people. We are truly blessed to have a Christ who would die for us, and his resurrection, which we celebrate on Easter Sunday, is evidence of his righteousness. What a true and perfect love!

The following weekend I went to my parents’ in Alabama. My mom and I spent the weekend shopping and spoiling ourselves with haircuts, manicures, and yogurt. We went to this new-to-me yogurt place that is DIY. You fix your own yogurt and add your own toppings. At checkout, you pay by weight instead of type of ice cream or number of toppings. It’s a very cool idea. Here’s a little peak at what I fixed for myself.

A friend of ours also got married in April. We went to the wedding and helped them celebrate their new lives together. Here’s a pic of my cutie patootie husband.

Have you ever tried hot yoga? I also went to a class with my friend S this month. It’s been awhile since I’ve done something like that, and it was super relaxing.

This weekend, as I mentioned earlier, we went to Lake Geneva. It was a fun weekend spent with a few old friends and making new friends. It was the perfect end to our April.

So how was your April?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter and instagram @SmartSavvyStyle or like my Facebook page!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, twitter, or pinterest links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!
Thanks for reading!
~ Heather ~
This entry was published on April 30, 2012 at 1:01 am. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “April Newsletter

  1. mollypg on said:

    New header? Or have I been out of the bloggy world for awhile? Either way, it looks great!

  2. Your favorite April outfit is so cute! In fact, I wore one just like it last week. It would go great with a statement necklace paired with it. -Britney (http://thestylehobbit.wordpress.com/)

What Do You Think?

