Dressing for Your Shape: Petites

A friend and reader sent a request to me on my Facebook page, asking that I address style for the short woman. She insists life looks different for petites and wanted my opinion on how to dress for her height. I want to start by saying, I am not petite. From what I’ve read, petite is officially defined as under 5’4″. Can anyone confirm that? At 5’9″+ I am far from petite. But, I do have google and a little fashion expertise. So this week, I’m going to share a couple of tips I’ve found for dressing the petite body.

Tip #1: Use patterns to your advantage.

  • Choose vertical stripes and other patterns to add the look of length.
  • Choose solids in one color for a streamlined look from head to heel.

I love the idea of using patterns (or solids) to your advantage. There are so many options out there for work or play. Think pinstripes. Think solid pants paired with heels in the same color. You don’t have to choose boring pieces to make this rule work for you. Think outside the box, and choose pieces you are comfortable in.

Want to know more? Check out my sources:

Fashion Tips for Petites at About.com

Fashion Tips for Petite Women at 365Hangers

The Best Fashion for Petites at Oprah.com

For the second set of tips, come back Thursday! And for examples of how to apply these rules, come back Saturday! …or just sign up to follow my blog via email, and you’ll receive email notifications every time I post! 🙂

Do you use patterns to elongate your look?

~~

I Believe… I am hosting a link up. Next Sunday. aka Mothers’ Day. Join Me. What do you believe?

This entry was published on May 8, 2012 at 6:43 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Readers, Smart and Savvy...Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Dressing for Your Shape: Petites

  1. mollypg on said:

    Oooo, so excited for your link up on Sunday! I’m going to start putting my post together soon.

  2. Pingback: Dressing for Your Shape: From My Closet to Yours « Smart and Savvy Style

What Do You Think?

