Industry Insight: A Q&A with Nestled Shop Owner

Nestled

Yesterday, I introduced you to one of my new favorite Etsy shops, Nestled. Today, I want you to meet the owner, Megan Miller, a crafty 23-year old, wife to husband Jesse, and mama to two beagles Tippy and Allie.

Megan, Owner of Nestled

Megan blogs at Nestled and recently opened her Etsy shop selling her handcrafted jewelry.

I’ve asked Megan a few simple questions (okay, okay, some are more difficult – check out #11!)  in an effort to share her story with you!

  1. How did Nestled begin?

I have a blog which actually came before my Etsy shop. I’ve always been a creative person, and thought starting a blog would be a fun way to share my creative ideas, DIY projects, etc, with friends and family. I blogged about a couple DIY jewelry projects I had worked on, and knew instantly it was something I loved and wanted to keep doing. It didn’t take long for me to decide to start selling the jewelry I made; I thought if I loved it this much, maybe other people would too!

packaged in ribbons and bows

  1. Why did you choose Etsy?

Etsy is one of my favorite places to shop, so it was an easy decision. I love that you can find so many unique, one-of-a-kind handmade items that you just won’t find anywhere else, all from artisans who truly care about their craft and their customers. Not only will you find awesome products, but buying from Etsy is a also great way to support small businesses, which I believe is very important in today’s economy.

  1. Tell us about your collection.

I’m a big fan of bright and fun colors, so I try to incorporate a lot of color in everything I make. From red to mint green to hot pink, I love it all! My collection features a lot of statement pieces; bold, chunky necklaces that will take an ordinary t-shirt and jeans outfit and transform it into something special and one-of-a-kind. And everything is handmade by me, from beginning to end!

pink cluster bib necklace

  1. Where do you find your inspiration?

I would say I get most of my inspiration from people. I love to check out what fashion trends others are wearing, and get ideas from that.

{Perhaps, she can find some inspiration in her new favorite fashion blogger…ahem. But I digress.}

  1. Which piece in your collection is currently your favorite?

Right now I’m loving my Aqua Blue Statement Necklace – the color reminds me of the beach, and I can wear it with almost anything! I also really love my Beaded Hoop Earrings. They’re cute and feminine, and especially great for those days when I want to throw my hair back in a ponytail.

aqua blue statement necklace

  1. What is the scariest part about opening up an Etsy shop?

The scariest part was just wondering whether or not people would like my jewelry! But I quickly learned to just create things that I would wear myself, have fun doing it, and everything else will fall into place.

{And because you, my lovely readers, will obviously love this jewelry as much as I do,  you can tell her so in the comments section of this blog – or just go visit her shop!}

  1. What is the most exciting part?

Getting to do something I love! I have so much fun making my designs, and it makes me feel really good to know people are enjoying the jewelry I make for them.

  1. What do you hope to accomplish with Nestled?

I really just want to make jewelry that people will love and want to wear everyday. It gives me warm fuzzies when a customer tells me how happy they are with their purchase. 🙂

  1. Owning a business like Nestled is time consuming. How do you find the time and balance your priorities?

I think when you’re doing something you love, it doesn’t feel like work. That’s how I feel about Nestled! I look forward to any free time I get, so I can just sit at my desk and create.

  1. Why would SmartSavvyStyle readers want to visit Nestled?

If you’re looking for unique and trendy jewelry to add to your wardrobe, I think you’ll like Nestled! I’m always adding new pieces to my collection so there’s something for everyone, and all at reasonable prices!

seafoam cluster bib necklace

  1. One of SmartSavvyStyle’s goals is to encourage reader confidence. What advice do you have for readers who may want to start a new life adventure, similar to you opening your Etsy shop, but don’t yet have the courage to do so?

Do something you’re passionate about! If you don’t enjoy what you’re doing, you won’t get very far. If you’re excited about it, others will be too. And don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Mistakes are inevitable, and while they can be frustrating and make you want to give up, don’t! Mistakes teach you how to get better, and can only improve your skill.

{Megan might be my new best friend. Okay, okay, that’s not facebook official, but still.  Who wouldn’t want to be friends with this girl? P.S. You can like her page to make it semi-official!}

These were my questions for Megan. Do you have any other questions for her?

This entry was published on May 16, 2012 at 6:57 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Shopping, Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Industry Insight: A Q&A with Nestled Shop Owner

  1. mollypg on said:

    I just checked out her shop! She has really great stuff.

  2. Pingback: Nestled: From My Closet to Yours « Smart and Savvy Style

  3. Melinda on said:

    Any suggestions on the best place to buy jewelry supplies for someone starting up their business?

What Do You Think?

