May Newsletter

Do you enjoy blogging? This is the question I am asked most often when people find out I have a blog. The answer to this question is…well, complicated.

I love the challenge of blogging. I love creating new outfits out of items in my closet and occasionally mixing in new pieces.

I love the connection of blogging. I have met some wonderful people in this little ol’ blogosphere.

I love the possibilities of blogging. People have made entire careers out of blogs alone.

But mostly, I love the perseverance that blogging instills in me.

Do I always feel like blogging? No, I don’t. Do I always feel good at blogging? No, I don’t.

Blogging is work. It’s hard work. Those people who say it isn’t? Well, nevermind. Let’s not focus on them.

Blogging is work just like anything else worthwhile in life. Your health and fitness? Work. Your house or car? Work. Your marriage and family? Work. Your job? Work. You can absolutely love these things. You can enjoy them. But to reap the benefits of them, you have to work at it.

So, do I enjoy blogging? Yes, absolutely. But you should know, it is hard work. So, thank you. Thank you for stopping by my tiny space on the Internet. Thank you for reading. Thank you for commenting. And thank you for following.

Now, let’s recap last month – my birthday month!

Fashion

May is one of my favorite months…for obvious reasons. 🙂 This is the first outfit I posted in May, and it is a great reminder that basic pieces like a button-up and cardigan can be transformed into a fashionable look with little effort.

What was your favorite look from my May posts?

Note: For even more outfits, follow me on Instagram! {@SmartSavvyStyle}

Fiction (and nonfiction)

Sometimes, amid all the blogging and social media and picture taking, it’s nice to sit back, relax, and read! I don’t know if you are a reader, but I would love to hear what you’re reading right now.

What I read in May:

  • Let’s Roll by Lisa Beamer
  • The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery (currently reading)

I didn’t do as much reading in May as I typically do. I was between books for awhile. I have a feeling the same thing is about to happen again. I have about 65 pages left in my current read, and I have no idea what I want to read next. Any suggestions?

Fitness

I continue to run a good bit each week. My current goal is to reach about 10 miles, give or take a couple, each week. I also jokingly started “operation beach body” in May…to which the husband replied, “we should have started a long time before now.” He immediately clarified that I didn’t need operation beach body but that 1 month wasn’t going to change much. (our beach trip is in June.) He has a way with words. 🙂 And because I know he means well, he makes me laugh.

But, what I am most excited about is the summer workouts in the park that are starting up in June! Millennium Park, here I come!

Friends and Family

Have I mentioned yet that May was my birthday month? We celebrated the big day at Garcia’s in Lincoln Square. Have you been there? It is deee-licious!

Some friends of ours also recently moved from Rogers Park to Evanston. We helped them warm their house with DIY nachos and good friends!

The hubs and I had our favorite pizza together. I had brunch with this girl and a mutual friend at Southport Grocery.

I had manicures with the sis-in-law and pedicures with a friend. I had Thai food and a cookout. A parade. And the pool. All in all, I’d call May a success.

So how was your May?

Like this blog?

  • Follow it! You can click on the link in the right hand column of this blog to receive e-mail notifications every time it is updated! You can also follow me on twitter and instagram @SmartSavvyStyle or like my Facebook page!
  • Share it! You can click on the e-mail, facebook, twitter, or pinterest links to share a post with others!
  • Join the conversation! You can comment on the blog and start a conversation with other readers! I love to hear from you!
Thanks for reading!
~ Heather ~
This entry was published on June 3, 2012 at 8:18 pm. It’s filed under Just Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “May Newsletter

  1. comingunstitched on said:

    I always think blogging is quite a bit more challenging and involved than people realize. There are definitely times where I don’t feel like blogging either and I’m worried that I’m not producing quality posts. That’s when I just take a step back and breathe. Loved your May recap too 🙂

    • Thanks, Sarah! It’s always nice to hear that other bloggers some times feel the same way! It can definitely be overwhelming, but it can also be extremely worthwhile! It’s all about the balance. 🙂

What Do You Think?

