One Piece, Three Ways: Black Pencil Skirt

Welcome! If this is your first time reading one of my One Piece, Three Ways posts, let me tell you a little about how they work. I take 1 piece from my closet and make 3 different outfits out of it. I post 1 look per day, Tuesday-Thursday. Then, on Saturday, I post options available for purchase so that you can add a similar item to your closet if you choose to do so.

I recognize that we may not have the same taste or style. We may not have the same professional dress code. We may not frequent the same types of places outside of work. Because of this, I also pin outfits related to the posts so you can have even more inspiration.

This week, I’m styling the black pencil skirt. Yesterday, I posted a super professional look – the skirt suit! Don’t ya just love the bright coral underneath the suit? A perfect pairing, I say.

Today’s look: Business Casual

The pencil skirt is so easy to pair with lightweight tops, button-ups, and flowy blouses. It is really versatile for the hot summer days and can easily be mixed with boots and tights for cooler air. I chose a button-up to keep the look classic but added the leopard print pumps and statement necklace to mix it up and make it a little more fun. Wearing your pencil skirt without the suit jacket is a great way to get more wear out of your skirt suit. Plus, it’s perfect for almost any office setting!

One thing I love about this particular look is that you can so easily make it your own. Don’t have the perfect belt? Lose it! Untuck your shirt. As long as it is fitted, you won’t look sloppy. Not sold on leopard? Choose a shoe in a fun color instead! Aren’t convinced about the statement necklace in your office? Swap the jewelry out for more classic pieces. It’s so easy to make this look work for you!

Still not sure what I posted works for you? That’s okay! Check out additional ways to style a pencil skirt on my pencil skirts pin board on Pinterest.

How do you style your pencil skirt?

P.S. Today, I’m linking up with The Pleated Poppy for wiww
{what i wore wednesday}!

What are you waiting for? Go check out her blog! It’s ahhh-dorable!

This entry was published on June 27, 2012 at 12:40 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “One Piece, Three Ways: Black Pencil Skirt

  1. LOVE this look! and those leopard print heels are fabulous.

  2. I love a pencil skirt. I bought a white one at Goodwill for the summer. Love the leopard pumps with it!

  3. Style Mentor™ on said:

    I like this idea! You are adorable by the way. I found you on Pleated Poppy, nice to meet you! I like your style!

  4. Love this look and those amazing heels!

  5. Love your shoes! I love me a pencil skirt. Very flattering for me as a petite. 🙂
    Carolyn http://sillyhappysweet.blogspot.com

  6. Pingback: One Piece, Three Ways: Black Pencil Skirt « Smart and Savvy Style

  7. Pingback: Black Pencil Skirt: From My Closet to Yours « Smart and Savvy Style

  8. You are killin’ it in those leopard heels! They’re fantastic.

What Do You Think?

