Blogger of the Month: Loop Looks

So, you may remember that I started hosting a blogger of the month club here at SmartSavvyStyle, and today, I am so excited to welcome…

Erin from Loop Looks

{loving that scarf, Erin!}

Erin started Loop Looks in February of 2012. She got the idea after posting several photos to Facebook and receiving positive feedback. Here’s what Erin had to say about starting her blog:

My actual job can be kind of monotonous and frustrating so I was looking for something that allowed me to be more creative and to help me achieve my goals of doing something that could actually help people with something they want help with.   Having a fashion blog makes me excited to get up in the morning and get dressed!  I truly believe that if you feel confident in your clothes you will be more confident in your life.  You don’t have to be the most stylish person on the street, but if you love what you’re wearing I promise you’ll have a different outlook on life.  I want to share that belief through my blog.

{I completely agree, Erin!}

I did a little Q&A with Erin and am so excited to share it with you so you can get to know Erin and her blog!

1.  What is the most interesting thing about you (or that you have ever done)?

When asked this question I usually tell the story about the time I got into a car accident with a hearse (it was empty) or the fact that I originally wanted to be an FBI profiler when I grew up (I’m not).  Overall, though, I’m a pretty average person.  I read a lot, I’m pretty good at Trivial Pursuit, I’ve run three marathons, I hate doing dishes and laundry, and I don’t dust.  Other interesting facts? I’ve worked as a waitress, a police department dispatcher, a courthouse legal clerk and now I run a department at a university.  I would also consider myself an introvert who loves public speaking.  You can ask me about that dichotomy sometime!

2.  Where is the most fascinating place you have ever been? Why?

As someone who grew up in a town of 100,000 people in what is basically the middle of a cornfield and went to college in an even smaller town, I was hesitant to move to Chicago.  In fact, the thought of moving to Chicago made me sick to my stomach.  But life is funny and here I am. Living in a two bedroom apartment near what many consider to be the heart of the city.  I still feel like a Chicago outsider in many ways.  But, every day when I leave my apartment go to work or every winter when I walk out of my office to see snow swirling against the lights of the skyscrapers, I think to myself “This place is amazing.”  The variety of people and backgrounds.  The diversity of neighborhoods.  The public transportation that drives me crazy yet leaves me grateful.  I had no idea I would find Chicago to be so fascinating and yet, every day, I learn about or see something else that makes me think “I can’t believe I live and work here.”

{With views like this, who could blame her?}

3.  How have these (and other) life experiences shaped you and your blog?

My first job out of college was in that 100,000 person town.  I love that town but I always felt a little out of place at work.  “Why are you so dressed up?” some of my coworkers would ask any time I wore a dress or heels.  The concept of dressing nicely because I wanted to seemed to be lost on many of them.

When I moved to Chicago I slowly started to overhaul my wardrobe.  I wanted to be one of the fashionable people I imagined I would see on the street.  What I learned is that so many people don’t seem to bother with their wardrobe no matter where they are.  Whether it’s because they don’t know how, they don’t care to try, or they just don’t have the resources I don’t know.  But I do know that I wanted to share what I’ve learned over the past few years with other people.

However, I don’t relate to many of the magazine spreads or even some of the more popular style bloggers out there because of the industry I work in and the climate I live in.  Which means I wanted to take my every day, ordinary, average self and show people that if I can make an attempt to look good at work then so can they.

{perfectly professional}

4.  What advice do you have for other bloggers?

Everyone always says “be true to yourself”.  But what does that mean?  To me that means making some ground rules before you start.  Want to take weekends off?  Do it!  Don’t want to invest a lot of money up front (or ever)?  Don’t!   I think by coming up with those ground rules for yourself you lower the risk of burnout.  Also, engage with your readers!  Tweet at them.  Reply to their comments both on your blog and on Facebook.  Send them emails.  It’s no fun for anyone if you exist in a vacuum.

5.  Where do you see yourself and/or your blog in 5 years?

In 5 years my husband (who is currently in college) will hopefully have finished his Chemistry degree and have a job.  Then I can decide if I want to continue working in my current industry (University administration) or pursue another passion (fitness, fashion, animals, whatever).  I hope we’ll still be in Chicago in a fabulous condo or apartment in the city with at least one dog.  As for my blog, I want it to be a go-to place for everyday fashion interaction.  My You Pick Wednesday series is the beginning of that.  I want the online community to see me as resource for their everyday fashion questions.  While I focus on office-appropriate yet stylish outfits, I want to help everyone!

And because you undoubtedly want to go show Erin some love, you can find her on facebook and twitter! Strike up a conversation, ask her your style questions, and become a fan of Loop Looks!

What questions do you have for Erin?

Want to be a part of the blogger of the month club? All bloggers are welcome! Just like SmartSavvyStyle on facebook and send me an email at hbur3234 at gmail dot com.

This entry was published on August 3, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

10 thoughts on “Blogger of the Month: Loop Looks

  1. thanks for sharing this new-to-me blog!

  2. What a great profile – love her style! Def need to check out her blog!

  3. Thanks for featuring me!

  4. I love discovering new bloggers!! Love this feature!

What Do You Think?

