Coral, Olive, and Paying It Forward

A few weeks ago, I was fighting a cold and feeling pretty miserable. I got on the train for my commute home and started feeling a little lightheaded. Of course, there were no seats on the train, so I fought that feeling as long as I possibly could. After maybe 5 stops or so, I couldn’t take it anymore, so I decided to squat {is that a southern word?} in my standing space. A stranger in a nearby seat offered me her seat, which I first waved off because I didn’t want to be a burden, but she insisted. I was so grateful to have a seat on that packed train.

Well, this morning, I am sitting on the train during my morning commute. A girl got on and was standing beside my seat when all of a sudden, she started squatting with her head in her hands. I asked her if she was okay, and she said she was lightheaded. I immediately asked her to take my seat.

I’m not sure if my initial experience influenced my decision to get up and give this girl my seat, but I know that I felt good about that decision. I knew what it was like to be in her position, and I was able to pay it forward.

Now, on to today’s outfit photo! I put this outfit together a few weeks ago to kick off this fall season. I love the pairing of coral and olive green. Plus, the olive jacket has a military-esque feel to it, which I love.

Side note: I think I’ve had this jacket since high school…or college…a long time ago regardless!

Do you have a military style jacket? How do you style it?

~~

For more SmartSavvyStyle, check out today’s  restaurant post on Chicago Shopping. I’m sharing my experience at a local Chicago seafood and steak place! Plus, follow me on Twitter and like me on Facebook for more smart and savvy content!

This entry was published on October 4, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Faith, Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Coral, Olive, and Paying It Forward

  1. yay for paying it forward!! and yay for that amazing jacket!!

What Do You Think?

