Blogger of the Month: High Heeled Style

I love reaching out and meeting new bloggers. The SmartSavvyStyle blogger of the month club is a great way to do just that.  As part of the blogger of the month club, I showcase one new blogger each month. In the process, we have become a little blogging community, champions for other members. Today, I’m excited to welcome the 4th member of the blogger of the month club:

Lea from High Heeled Style

I asked Lea to send me a bio about her and her blog, High Heeled Style. Here’s what she had to say:

My name is Lea and I started High Heel Style as a way to hold myself accountable for improving my professional style. Believe it or not, I used to hate shopping but now that I’ve learned how to better dress for my shape and to define my own look it’s become something that I love. I hope High Heeled Style inspires other ladies to express themselves through their personal style – you know, bring out that inner glow. When you feel great, look great and believe you are great, you’re ready to tackle anything!

Listen in as I share some of Lea’s thoughts on fashion, blogging, and life.

1. What are the best shoes you have ever owned?

Oh no! How can I pick just one? I had an awesome pair of Franco Sarto red boots that I wore to oblivion several years ago. I’ve never been able to find a replacement for those red boots. My second pair of high heels was the Calvin Klein Plumere. I spent more on these than I had ever spent on shoes and I wasn’t even sure I could wear them! When I tried them on at the store, it was love at first site and I decided then and there that I would wear them no matter what. Turns out they are pretty comfortable and I’ve since worn them at work, date night and weekend get togethers. Pretty versatile wouldn’t you say?

I also love my Jessica Simpson Dove heels. I spotted them in a magazine while getting a pedicure and literally booked it to the store as soon I was done to get them.

{Seriously? How cute are her shoes?!}

2. How do you think a good shoe can positively impact a person’s life?

Learning how to wear heels opened up a new world of possibilities for me. It was only a few years ago that I could only wear 2 – 3” heels. Oddly, in that height, colors, textures and styles are more limited. So, once I was able to include higher heels I found so many great colors and styles. It helped take existing outfits to a new level. They make me feel mature and sexy.

No matter what your shoe preference, having shoes that you love is just like any other piece of fashion (or a great hair day). When you feel good, you exude that charm and confidence which makes everyone attractive and open to possibilities. I know, that sounds a little foo-foo but I’ve felt and seen other people feel it too!

3. How did your blog High Heeled Style develop?

There were a couple of things going on that led me to starting a blog. My job at the time was involved in many social platforms for our clients and I wanted to become better educated in blogging. Secondly, I was searching for ways to improve my personal style. I came across J’s Everyday Fashion and was inspired by her style. So in order to keep myself accountable for actually working on my style, I started the blog.

{Adorable. And I mean her, her dog, and her yard.}

It’s turned out to be a great creative outlet and has helped me to meet other like-minded people. Sometimes I get blogger envy but I try to remember that I originally did this for my own style growth and if it helps anyone else evolve their style and increase their confidence then I’ve done something positive.

4. Where do you see your blog in 6 months? 6 years?

Wow! I wish I knew. Since I’m not currently working, I want to put more effort into High Heeled Style. I don’t expect it to replace the need for a “real” (read: paying) job but I guess that would be a great outcome. I really had no idea how much time this would take and it really is a “job” in it’s own way. I hope I help to inspire other people to feel good about their style. If I can do it, everyone can!

{This is a fun, professional look in my book!}

5. What is your most popular post or category of posts? Why do you think people enjoy them so much?

This has varied a bit. Certain outfits have garnered many comments, as did a review of BirchBox. I wish I had the magic bullet for understanding what compels people to comment on certain posts but sometimes…nothing. So, I’m going to continue to do some reviews, post outfits and use Facebook to post other style related items. It’s fun to keep experimenting!

It’s been so fun getting to know Lea. I hope that you’ll continue to get to know her because there is far more to her than what I could capture in 5 questions! Please check out her blog, follow her on Twitter, and like her on Facebook. Do whatever you can to show your support and learn more about High Heeled Style!

All pictures courtesy of High Heeled Style.

This entry was published on October 5, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Blogger of the Month: High Heeled Style

  1. oh she looks FABULOUS! i love this feature series, heather. thanks for sharing!

What Do You Think?

