YOLO + Change + A Challenge!

“Nothing is so painful to the human mind
as a great and sudden change.”
– Mary Shelley, Frankenstein

Once upon a time, a younger version of myself was in college and read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. Or let’s be honest, the younger version of myself probably read the CliffsNotes. Maybe I should revisit that book….

Anywho, I’ve been feeling a change coming to the blog. I’ve been fighting it.

I actually like change. It isn’t that I have an aversion to it. I just know the work that goes into change, and I wasn’t sure I was ready for that. Do I have the time? Do I have the energy?

Why the need for change, you ask?

Honestly, I starting getting burned out. I love blogging, but I got behind when I got sick and had two weekends worth of company. It’s hard to bounce back from that. So, during that time, I fought the need for change by doing the bare minimum.

But, I’m back. I’m ready. I’m willing.

Ch-, ch-, ch-, ch-, changes…

Thank you, David Bowie.

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I am a writer. That’s what I enjoy doing. When people ask me what I do for fun, I tell them I write. I know, it’s sounds pretty nerdy, but it’s true. And, in order to give myself more freedom and time to write, this blog baby has to change. Not to worry, you’ll still see fashion posts. But, you’ll also see a lot more of me. Being real. And vulnerable.

Whoa.

Now you see why I questioned the change.

If it doesn’t work, fine. I’ll do something different. But right now, I”m just excited to present to you the Smart and Savvy {Life} Style blog, which is one part of SmartSavvyStyle. I hope you’ll stick around and follow along. I enjoy the company!

To kick us off, I’m issuing a challenge for all who want to participate! I’ve found that a lot of my friends like challenges that are, well, challenging, but are also quick to accomplish and include accountability. I’m hoping you feel the same way. If so, I’ll continue coming up with challenges for us to complete! The key? You have to tell me if you enjoy them, or they might go away!

Challenge: Keeping a Journal

“Journal writing is a voyage to the interior.”
– Christina Baldwin

For the next 15 days (or until the end of the month if you’d prefer), I challenge you to keep a journal. Try to write in it once a day, but if you miss a day, don’t worry about it. Just keep plugging along and writing. Record your thoughts, your experiences, your blessings, your struggles. It’s your journal. Next Monday, I’ll check in and see how you are doing, so come back and let me know.

If you are a blogger and want to blog about your journal, please feel free to grab the badge below and display it with pride. Please link back to my blog so others can find the challenge and join in. You can display in your posts or on your sidebar. I’m not picky.

If you aren’t a blogger, I encourage you to participate as well. Stop by each Monday and let me know how you’re doing.

Have questions or need encouragement more than once a week? Email me at hbur3234 at gmail dot com.

Are you up for the challenge? 

Linking up with: Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO {You Only Live Once} Monday! Check out their blogs for lots of lovely bloggers living life to its fullest!

This entry was published on October 15, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Readers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “YOLO + Change + A Challenge!

  1. Love this! I’m glad that i’m not the only one who felt the need to change the direction of their blog! Can’t wait to see what you write about!

  2. Love this idea! Can’t wait to see what you write!

    Thanks for YOLOing with us,
    Carly
    http://www.lipglossandcrayons.com

  3. Pingback: Do Clothes Make the {Wo}Man? « Smart and Savvy Style

  4. Pingback: A Hot Commodity « Smart and Savvy Style

What Do You Think?

