A Hot Commodity

The ability to deal with people is as purchasable a commodity as sugar or coffee and I will pay more for that ability
than for any other under the sun.

– John D. Rockefeller

The husband and I go on coffee dates most Sunday mornings. My order always varies. I like to switch things up. Yesterday, I place our order with the Starbucks cashier: a grande Americano and a grande pumpkin spice latte {obvi not pictured above}. They ask for the name on the Americano. I give them my husband’s name and move on down the line. After a few minutes, the barista calls out for a grande Americano for hubs. I pick it up and pass it down. Next up, a grande pumpkin spice latte. Perfect! I grab it and go sit down.

Imagine my surprise when 5 minutes later, my husband points at my cup and laughs. I glance down and realize that my cup says “Rachel” on the side! I unintentionally stole someone’s precious hot commodity! {In my defense, barista did not say it was for anyone specific or made with any special preferences.} I assumed since it was what I ordered…with no name attached…and followed hubby’s order, it was mine.

Poor Rachel! I hope she has that hot commodity for dealing with people because I was NOT a good start to her Sunday morning.

Did you have a better Sunday morning than Rachel? What about the rest of your weekend?

My weekend was pretty busy, and I actually failed miserably at the journal challenge. The month isn’t over, though! I’m going to try to push through and keep writing in my journal through Oct. 31! Are you with me? You only have 3 days left to journal! If you have a blog, include an update in your post next Monday. If you don’t, that’s okay too! Come back here on Monday and leave me an update in the comments section.

So are you taking the challenge? How is the journal writing going?

What challenge would you like to see next?

Linking up with: Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO {You Only Live Once} Monday! Check out their blogs for lots of lovely bloggers living life to its fullest!

This entry was published on October 29, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Not So Smart and Savvy..., Smart and Savvy...Readers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “A Hot Commodity

  1. hahaha oh noes!! see, i would totally be rachel in this situation. but then, i’d demand a free one. you know, if i were rachel. thanks for linking up, friend!

  2. Haha! Don’t worry Heather…we have all totally done the same thing (or maybe it’s just me?!) In any case, I’m sure Rachel is a super sweet girl and forgives you 🙂
    Happy Monday friend!
    xo – Marion

  3. Whoops! lol. I think I’ve done the same thing at a coffee place in the airport. It was super early in the morning, I was half asleep, I heard what I thought was my order and grabbed it. I don’t think it was the “skinny” version that I ordered. Or the right size. My apologies to whoever ended up with mine on accident…

  4. Haha! I had a guy do that to me once. He took mine, then a few minutes later they called his order and I took it. We both ordered different syrups so we both didn’t like “ours.” Had to have the baristas remake them when it wasn’t even their fault! Really awkward.

  5. LOL, at least it was the same drink and not something putrid. 🙂

  6. Haha…oh no! I’m surprised you both ordered the same drink though!
    ~Jessica

What Do You Think?

