Will Persistence Pay Off?

Patience, persistence and perspiration make an unbeatable combination for success.
– Napoleon Hill

I am a runner, not much of one, but I do run.

{Chicagoland bloggers at the TraffickFree 5k back in August –
proof that I am a runner…or just a really sweaty stand-er}

Sometimes I get out at lunch and run through downtown. Lately, I’ve been passing food trucks every time I’m out. {darn you, cupcake truck! you are so tempting!} And I always wish I had remembered to bring money along so that I could indulge.

If you read Smart and Savvy {Food} Style, you may remember my food truck story from a few months ago. Basically, I convinced some friends to go with me to The Roost, a food truck that serves southern-style food.

I waited patiently as each of my friends ordered and received their fried chicken. Finally, it was my turn. I approached the truck and waited for the guy to turn around and take my order, but when he turned around, I knew – immediately – the look on his face. He was out of food.

I ended up splitting that meal with one of my friends, so I was able to taste the southern goodness that is fried food. But something tells me, I’ll be stopping by a food truck again in my future. You know, persistence and all that.

Challenge Update:

Persistence also helps in the reader challenges I post. October’s challenge was to keep a journal. I hope that you were successful, or at least attempted to join in! But November is a new month and a new challenge!

For the month of November, document one thing you are thankful for each day. One look at my personal Facebook feed, and you would see that many people do this anyway, but I think it is  a great reminder of how blessed we are. So, every day, think of one thing you are thankful for. Tell someone. Share it on facebook. Write it down. Blog about it. Whatever works for you. But remember to count your blessings this November. I’ll be sharing what I’m thankful for on my Facebook page each day. Join me, and share what you are thankful for as well!

Happy Monday! Will you be sharing what you are thankful for this November?

Linking up with: Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO {You Only Live Once} Monday! Check out their blogs for lots of lovely bloggers living life to its fullest!

This entry was published on November 5, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Chicago and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Will Persistence Pay Off?

  1. love this, heather! i’ve been writing in my journal and praying with my husband each night about things we’re thankful for!

What Do You Think?

