Building Relationships through Blogging

One of the reasons I enjoy blogging is because I have the opportunity to meet and encourage so many wonderful bloggers. I’m starting a new series on the blog that’s all about blogging. Consider these your insider tips, tricks, and stories from people just like you!

To kick us off, Molly from A Foreign Land is joining me today to share with you how she has used blogging to build real relationships.

~~

Lots of people blog for lots of different reasons.

When I started A Foreign Land in 2006, I was completely anonymous. Though I shared my posts with a few close friends, the blog was mainly intended to be a safe place to share my struggle fitting into a new city.

{source: Pinterest}

In a few years, I started to tell a few more people about my blog and even started lurking around the web checking out other blogs. But, for the most part, blogging was still just a platform for me to speak. I wasn’t in a conversation; A Foreign Land was a monologue.

Then in 2010 everything changed.

I discovered and participated in a Spring Fashion Week blog party on Moms are For Everyone. For a full week, bloggers all over the country posted pictures of their daily outfits and took time to visit, comment and get to know the other participants. It blew my mind.

Suddenly I was in a conversation.  Suddenly blogging shifted directions. It was all about the relationships.

I started asking questions at the end of my posts because I was curious what my friends had to say. I regularly left comments on other people’s blogs, promoted their contests and joined in their linky parties. For me, my blog community became incredibly important. In the past two years, I’ve read about their moves, their new babies, and even a few weddings! Our blogs connected us in personal ways. I truly consider them friends.

{source: Pinterest}

Sure, it takes more effort. It takes more time. It takes other bloggers who are also interested in building a relationship. But it is so much more fun than the monologue I had going for years. For me, blogging without community, blogging without relationships, blogging in a bubble isn’t nearly as rewarding.

What steps have you taken to build relationships with other bloggers?

~~

Want to build a relationship with Molly? Start by liking her on facebook!

*All images provided by A Foreign Land via Pinterest

This entry was published on November 6, 2012 at 7:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Building Relationships through Blogging

  1. Thank you so much for this opportunity!
    Building a friendship with you has been prime example of the good stuff that comes with blogging in community.

  2. awesome post, molly!! also awesome name 🙂

  3. I started blogging back in the early 2000s and have friends I made through that first blog that I keep in touch with and have even gone to visit. Blogging is great when you reach out. It opens all kinds of doors and introduces you to so many people. But you do have to work at it! People won’t just fall into your lap. You can keep your blog it’s own little piece of the Internet or you can put yourself out there and be amazed at what happens. Molly hit the nail on the head in this post!

    P.S. One of the relationships I made was with Molly! She even took my outfit photos this week!

    • It’s true that blogging is what you make of it. If you want to be a silo, you can. If you want to find community, you will! You just have to put yourself out there. Thanks for stopping by, Erin!

  4. Great guest post! I agree… it took time for me to actually “meet” a blogger… but now I’m meeting new ladies all the time. And love it!

What Do You Think?

