Blogger of the Month: New Momma Beckers

Blogging is all about relationships, so every month I feature another blogger right here on Smart and Savvy. I love getting to know the bloggers through their features, and I love introducing them to YOU!

I missed December’s blogger of the month because of my brief blogging sabbatical, so this month, I’m actually going to be featuring two bloggers. Today is the first blogger feature of January, and I’m so happy to introduce you to…

Rebecca of New Momma Beckers!

photo(27)

Rebecca is a new mom who decided it was time to reclaim her health after her son was born. She knew when she first saw her son, her life was changed forever. She wanted to be the best mother she could be for him, and that included getting healthy. Rebecca wanted to not only be a good parent, but also a good example to her son. Currently, Rebecca is on a journey to lose 100 lbs., and she’s already down 50! She shares her journey to health on her blog, New Momma Beckers. It’s about being more than just a new mom, but also a new Beckers!

I asked Rebecca a few questions to help us get to know her and her blog even better.

1. New Momma Beckers is about living healthy and enjoying your son’s childhood. What does that look like from day to day? How do you balance it all?

Honestly, it’s not always easy!!  But I’m learning to find one moment each day to appreciate my son, and being his mom.  As far as living healthy goes, it is very helpful to know what I am eating for the day ahead of time.  I’ll typically plan a week’s worth of dinners as well, so that I know whether I need more ingredients before I’m actually standing in front of the stove to cook!  

troy and mommy after workout

2. What advice do you have for other new moms wanting to get healthy?

I would say there are three things you can do to get healthier immediately.  First, limit your sugar and the processed foods you eat.  Second, keep a food journal, and write down everything that goes in your mouth.  Third, try to cook as many meals as you can at home.  People tend to eat a lot more calories when they go out than when they prepare their food themselves.

3. How do you personalize your blog posts for your audience?

I just talk about the issues that are important to me, like getting healthy and surviving motherhood.  I write from my own perspective, and I hope my audience enjoys it!

4. What is your most popular post or category of posts? Why do you think that is?

My most popular category of posts are the reviews I do of products I enjoy.  I think this is because many people out there want advice on things they may like, and as a mom trying to get fit, my perspective is one that a lot of people can relate to! 

5. Where do you see yourself, your family, your blog in 5 years?

I hope that my blog will have a larger audience!  I also hope that I will be at my goal weight, and will have kept off the weight!  My husband and I would like to have another child in a year or so, but if there’s anything I’ve learned in the past year of being a mom, it’s that you can’t predict anything!  🙂 

Diptic

Rebecca is an inspiration to all women, not just all you mommas out there! But if you are a new mom and want a partner in your health goals, you should definitely check out her blog! Help me welcome Rebecca into the blogger of the month club. Show her some love this month!

New Momma Beckers is also on Twitter and Facebook.

All pictures courtesy of New Momma Beckers.

This entry was published on January 4, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Blogger of the Month: New Momma Beckers

  1. Pingback: Blogger of The Month Feature - Suburban Style Challenge | Suburban Style Challenge

  2. I love that her goal weight isn’t a specific number and that she’s going to leave that “choice” up to her body. What a fantastic idea!

    • Yes! Rebecca seems willing to let her body adapt as needed, and she is committed to keep trying to live healthy. “Healthy” is a daily choice for all of us, and many times it is a constant battle. Kudos to her for sharing her journey with the world!

What Do You Think?

