Bike Skillz

I have mad bike skillz (and yes, that needed a z instead of an s). Seriously, I’ve been on a non-stationary bike once in the past, oh I don’t know, maybe 13 years. And lucky for you, there’s evidence of said experience.

IMG_2155

Needless to say, I was lucky to avoid crashing into any large objects.

IMG_2188

This bike is my mom’s. The hubs and I have bikes on our to buy list, but it isn’t a priority yet.

Maybe one day…

I’d love for the hubs and I to jump on our bikes and head out for Saturday morning brunch together. Or even spend a slow Sunday afternoon biking through the forest preserves (yes, Chicago has those).

Yep, I hope to have a bike one day.

Do you own a bike? Do you ride for exercise or pleasure?

This entry was published on January 16, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Chicago, Smart and Savvy...Fitness, Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Bike Skillz

  1. I used to bike regularly in high school, and have done 2 25 mile rides and a 50 mile ride πŸ™‚ But once college hit, I didn’t ride as much, so I didn’t do the long distance stuff as much. My bike resides out in MI at the summer home, where it gets very little use, unfortunately. This summer I think I’m going to bring it home though, so hubs and I can ride together. I’d love to get back into it and do another 50 mile ride–my dad has done a few since our last one.

    I did bring home a vintage bike that was my grandma’s that I plan on fixing up again (my grandpa fixed it up for me when I was 15) and using as well. It’s just a matter of finding the time and money :/

  2. I have a road bike that I’ve used for three duathlons and several 50+ mile rides. I also ride to work sometimes in the summer as well as getting to and from some places to do errands. My hubby has a hybrid that he uses to ride to school in the summer. We still haven’t gotten around to riding places just for fun together, though!

    • Yeah, that’s one of my hesitations. I don’t see myself just going out for a bike ride on my own, and I’m not sure how often the hubs and I would have coordinating schedules to get out there together. Probably why bikes aren’t at the top of the priority list yet. πŸ™‚ We’ll see. I think you and your hubs should definitely test out riding together for fun in the spring!

What Do You Think?

