Button It Up

I keep seeing pins on Pinterest with button-ups layered over each other. It always looks cute and a little bit preppy in pictures, so I thought I should eventually give this layered button-up look a try. But, for some reason, it never clicked. I never woke up and thought, gee, I sure would love to wear two button-ups today. Or, hmm, what should I wear? Oh, I know, a button up. And another one. Call me crazy, but I never found myself fighting the urge to layer these shirts.

Eventually, I did give it a try though. Mostly for y’all. I’m sure if I’m seeing the pins, you are too. And I wanted to prove that it can be done. And that the average girl can pull this layered look off.

IMG_2305

For my layered button-up style, I chose a chambray shirt and a blue plaid button-up. I think the similar color scheme keeps the look streamlined.

IMG_2311

I added the blazer for extra interest and the scarf for a little pop of color. And when the look was complete? Riding boots only seemed appropriate.

Do you ever layer multiple button-up shirts? What problems have you had styling them? What has worked well for you?

Linking up with: Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO Monday!

This entry was published on January 28, 2013 at 6:00 am and is filed under Smart and Savvy...Style. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Button It Up

  1. i love how you layered this and those boots are gorgeous 🙂

    Chioma
    C’s Evolution of Style

  2. I do like the fact that you paired the chambray & blue plaid. They look good together. I also like the choice of color you used with the scarf.

  3. I have never layered two button-up shirts, but I might have to after seeing this post! I just love the way the bottom shirt is peeking out to say hello! So cute 🙂

    Kate @ A Journey in Style

What Do You Think?

