Blogger of the Month: Martinis and Minivans

Martinis and Minivans…with a title like that, you’ve got to keep reading!

Every month I feature a fellow blogger with my blogger of the month club. This month, I’d like to introduce you to…

Danielle from Martinis and Minivans!

Blog_Button

Dani is a freelance writer, mama to two children, and wife, who lives in Omaha, Nebraska, and blogs at Martinis and Minivans. She talks about the crazy life of a mom and her journey to hip parenthood. Her blog is witty, transparent, and down right lovable.

To help you get to know Dani and her blog a little better, I asked her a few questions.

1. How did you come up with your blog title? Why is it meaningful to you?

Martinis and Minivans is a blog for anyone who has ever needed a martini after driving a minivan around all day.  Or for anyone who has just ever needed a martini!  The title is meaningful to me because it sums up the feel of the blog – parenthood with a side of sarcasm and sassiness.  I’ve been a freelance writer for over seven years and have always written for other people.  Martinis and Minivans was an opportunity to share me – the good, bad and spit-up covered parts of me.

2. How has your blog impacted the way you parent and vice versa?

The blog hasn’t really impacted the way I’ve parented, though it has give me comfort in the fact that I’m not alone out there in crazy parenting situations.  I’m always getting comments about how other parents found gum in their child’s hair, or that they hate to play Barbies too.  It’s nice to feel that my hubby and I aren’t the only ones losing our mind on a daily basis.

3. What are the best connections you’ve made through blogging?

The connections are the best part of blogging.  I’ve connected more with my own family and friends through it, as well as the opportunity to meet some amazing bloggers and readers.  It’s also cool to see bloggers promoting other bloggers. That’s why I started the Inside the Blogger’s Studio series so that twice a month, readers can meet some other bloggers and help spread the love. It’s not always a competition out there, we can actually all help each other to grow.

4. How has your freelance writing career impacted your blog and vice versa?

The blog has definitely enhanced my freelance writing career.  It’s an amazing platform that truly is your voice.  You have a visual portfolio of your work with just one web address.  I can’t believe the doors it has opened.  From a weekly writing gig at Omaha World Herald’s parenting site Momaha, to posts on The Huffington Post, I feel like I’m one of the few lucky people that actually loves what they do.

5. Where do you see your writing career, blogging or otherwise, in 5 years?

Wow, that’s a tough one.  In 5 years, my kids will be 9 and 6 (damn, I feel old right now) and who knows what life will be like then.  I’m not a person who plans like that.  My life has worked out in such a different direction than I ever imagined and I love every second of it.  My hope is to keep doing what I’m doing, which is writing and loving it.  And hopefully, folks will still want to read it.  Though, my children will have learned to have read by then so things can get very interesting once they figure out what I do… I might need to go back and delete a few things…

Ready for a martini or a minivan? Hop on over to Dani’s blog to read more. You won’t be disappointed.

Martinis and Minivans is also on Facebook and Twitter.

All pictures courtesy of Martinis and Minivans.

Blogger of the Month Club: Are you a blogger? Do you want to join the blogger of the month club? All bloggers are welcome! I would love to spread the word about your talent! Just like SmartSavvyStyle on facebook and send me an email at hbur3234 at gmail dot com.

This entry was published on February 1, 2013 at 6:00 am and is filed under Smart and Savvy...Bloggers. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

