Save Money on Makeup Brushes

I’m no savings expert, but I’m always looking to save money, especially on items that are more expensive than I personally think they should be. Makeup brushes fall into this category. Why are makeup brushes so expensive? Can they really cost that much to make?

Anyway, when it comes to saving money on things like makeup brushes, I’m always on the hunt.

So today, I wanted to share one cost-savings trick I’ve found for makeup brushes.

It’s super technical.

Ready for it?

Buy travel size makeup brushes.

brushes5

{available here}

My set is by Sonia Kashuk. The makeup brushes shown came in my travel size kit, which is currently priced at $14.99 at Target. Regular sized brushes seem to range from $8-20, depending on the brush.*

Plus, the set I bought doesn’t seem much different than the regular sized makeup brushes, and they still do the trick!

brushes2

What strategies do you use for saving money on makeup brushes or similar items?

*Always check prices before you buy. You may be able to piece together a set of makeup brushes for cheaper than buying a set. In my case, the travel size set was the best way to go.

Linking up with: Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO Monday!

This entry was published on February 4, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Beauty, Smart and Savvy...Shopping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Save Money on Makeup Brushes

  1. I wear a lot of Bare Minerals so I try to buy makeup that comes with brushes in the packaging!

  2. Great idea! I use BareMinerals like Amber and instead of buying their expensive bottles of brush cleaner, I just picked up a big bottle of baby shampoo instead…works the same and I actually got the tip from a BareMinerals employee!

  3. Great idea! I need some new brushes, mine are looking pretty ragged. 🙂

  4. Awesome tip! This is one of those tips where you scratch your head and ask yourself, “Why didn’t I think of that?” I’ve never used any of Sonia’s products, but I see them every time I go to Target. Perhaps the time is now! lol

  5. Pingback: How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes |

What Do You Think?

