Prepping Your Skin for Spring

So, funny story…  I was at the gym one day last week, and after my workout, I needed to take a quick shower. Luckily, my gym has a towel service, so I made my way to the locker room, grabbed a standard white towel, and took a shower.

Imagine my shock when, after my shower, I look down at my towel and realized it is covered in brown stains. I was mortified. OMG. Did I just dry off with a dirty towel? How could that be? Seriously? Grr. And yes, I sometimes growl in my head. Then, imagine how much my embarrassment increased as I realized I heard girls chatting in the locker room. Do I really have to walk out there in a dirty towel? Can I hide? Or at least hide the towel? Can I run and bury my face in the locker?

I survived. In case you were wondering. But later, I realized exactly what was on that white towel.

My vanity.

Yep. Lesson learned.

You see, I’ve been prepping my skin for warmer weather, using a self-tanning lotion on my legs so that I can rid myself of tights as soon as the weather permits. I realized after the fact, that said tanning lotion is actually what turned my towel brown. It wasn’t a dirty towel after all, so thank goodness I didn’t complain to the staff!

Anyway, my recent experience, awkward as it was, reminded me that you might use self-tanners too. And if you do, you might just be interested in what I use. You know, so we can compare stories notes.

I’ve been using Jergens natural glow foaming moisturizer, and I feel like it actually works. (Bonus when you pay for something, and it actually works, right?!) I am fair skinned but tan naturally in the summer, although to see me in the winter, you probably wouldn’t guess it!

I use this self-tanner in the early spring to prep my skin, especially my legs.

self tanner pic

Plus, my legs feel moisturized, not just tanned.

So, if you’re looking for a self-tanner, I guess I’d recommend this one. I’d just also recommend avoiding white towels for awhile. 🙂

Do you use self-tanner? What products work for you?

Linking up with Molly from Still Being [Molly] and Carly from Lipgloss and Crayons for YOLO Monday!

P.S. Have you seen the blogger of the month feature? Check it out! You could be next!

This entry was published on March 4, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Not So Smart and Savvy..., Smart and Savvy...Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “Prepping Your Skin for Spring

  1. Love that stuff! And thank goodness the towel wasn’t dirty from someone else!!!

  2. lifeasmrsburnett on said:

    I use the jargons gradual glow lotion. I like it…but im going to Florida next week and i’m looking for something that will give me a bit more color but not leave me looking orange…

  3. I’m a big sunless tanner junkie (and have wrote a few of my own reviews on them too!). I’ll have to check this one out. I’m not sure I like that it came off on your towel though! The last thing you want is to jump into a friends pool and have the colour drain off you! Does it leave any streaks?

    • Oh, great question, Alex! It hasn’t left any streaks and I’ve actually been really happy with it. I’m not sure what happened with the towel thing. I’m thinking that maybe I put the tanner on that morning. Typically, I use it at night and don’t have any problems!

  4. Sarah Stright-Hartley on said:

    Haha, this is awesome! I’ve been thinking about checking out this self tanner so thanks for the warning 🙂

    • I’m pretty happy with this self-tanner. It seems to work and doesn’t leave me streaky. I try to put it on at night and let it dry completely before doing anything else. Wouldn’t want another towel incident! 🙂

What Do You Think?

