What I’m Reading: Leadership and the Art of Struggle

You may have seen my recent #artofstruggle tweets on Twitter. I’m currently reading Steven Snyder’s new leadership book called Leadership and the Art of Struggle: How Great Leaders Grow through Challenge and Adversity.

I’m a little bit of a leadership junkie in my spare time, so when I received this book, I knew immediately I wanted to read it. I debated some about whether you would be interested in hearing about it too, but ultimately, I know that this blog is an extension of me that is meant to serve you. As I dug into the book and realized how applicable it is to all of our lives, I was much more comfortable with the idea of blogging about it.

For example, the main theme of the book is how struggle, and even failure – yes, failure – are really just an opportunity for growth.

How many of us struggle? Me? You?

How many of us have failed? Me? You?

I know I have definitely struggled and failed many times throughout my life. So what? Well, that part becomes clear in the moments of reflection. We must take the time to think about those struggles, to reflect on our failures, in order to learn from them.

Snyder gives examples of successful people in the tech world, non-profits, the arts, and even the military to show how people have struggled their way to success. It is so comforting to know that we don’t have to be perfect to be successful. Not in our personal lives. Not in our professional lives. Not in our blogging lives. We can struggle. We can fail. But as long as we grow, we can succeed.

What are your favorite genres to read?

Find Steven Snyder on Facebook and Twitter.

Note: I received a free copy of Leadership and the Art of Struggle by Steven Snyder in exchange for its promotion. I chose to review the book. Opinions are my own. 

This entry was published on March 15, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Just Me, Smart and Savvy...Faith, Smart and Savvy...Readers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Leadership and the Art of Struggle

  1. elleseesyou on said:

    this is a true and interesting concept. thanks for sharing this book with us!!!

What Do You Think?

