Trend Alert: Pastels

C is for Challenge accepted!

I love a good fashion challenge, so when I saw that the t+j designs blog was hosting a trends challenge, I knew I was up for it. But here’s the thing…this month’s trend? It’s pastel. And that’s truly a challenge for me.

I love pastels. Are you kidding me? They are so soft, pretty, feminine. I grew up in ballerina pink and later joined a pink sorority. Pastels have followed me my entire life. And I love them.

But they aren’t always super flattering. I have fair skin, especially this time of year! And a pastel styled the wrong way can really wash me out.

So, this was a challenge.

A challenge I accepted.

IMG_2624

I chose pastel blue. I pulled an aqua cardigan from my drawer and began to experiment. I considered a navy button down, toyed with the idea of a burnt orange top, but ended up really driving it home with this bright red blazer.

IMG_2627

IMG_2633

I like it!

Challenge = successful!

Do you accept fashion challenges?
How would you wear pastel this spring?

Linking up with the style it challenge at t+j designs, what i wore Wednesday at The Pleated Poppy and Whatever, Whenever, Wednesday at Rolled Up Pretty + I’m participating in the A to Z challenge! Check it out!

This entry was published on April 3, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

16 thoughts on “Trend Alert: Pastels

  1. Love the pale blue/bright red combo! You’re totally representin’ Chicago! 😉

  2. See you can totally pull of pastels with fair skin! You look great! I think the bright, bold blazer really helped to take away the paleness from the pastel. What a cute look!
    Valerie
    http://www.the-style-files.com

  3. Super cute! Just stopping by from A to Z.

  4. you look gorgeous, as usual!

  5. Cute! I’m obsessed with jackets. I love that color and the quarter sleeves.

  6. I have never thought to wear a cardi and a blazer together. You lok great and rocked the pastel challenge.

  7. The pale blue is so gorgeous with the pop of red!
    t+j designs

  8. I NEVER would have thought to put the pastel blue with the red, although it looks really good, especially with a black pant and normal black pumps. I think the contrast of the two bright colors makes the outfit, and the rest of it should have more of the muted colors.

    I’m stopping by because I found you through the Blog Trend Blog Hop. 🙂

  9. One of my favorite color combinations, you look great!

    Red Soles and Red Wine

What Do You Think?

