Can You Really Take an Outfit from Day to Night?

N is for Night

I always hear this question: how can I take an outfit from day to night? And, it makes me laugh. Who are all these people who have such a normal daytime life yet such a busy night life? I mean, really? I’m tired at night. My night time outfit involves yoga pants and sweatshirts, but I digress.

The question got me thinking…can you really take an outfit from day to night? I decided to give it a try.

Day

IMG_2687 - Copy

IMG_2691 - Copy

For my daytime outfit, I chose a navy blue tee layered over a long sleeve gray tee {because it’s cold in Chicago}. I added a chunky knit scarf, skinnies, and my chuck taylors. And how about that hat? I couldn’t resist. It’s a perfect casual look for day.

Night

IMG_2731

To make this outfit work for night, I wanted to make as few changes as possible. Otherwise, it’s a whole new outfit. Am I right? So, I lost the hat and traded my chucks for a pair of heels. I also decided to switch out the chunky scarf for a statement necklace. This look works much better for a fun evening out. And if the temps ever warm up, I would lose the long sleeve layer as well. Even better.

I like both of these looks, and overall I think it works both ways.

What do you think? Can you really take an outfit from day to night?

Linking up with My Thrifty Chic for Anything and Everything + I’m participating in the A to Z blogger challenge this month! Check it out!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Don’t forget! I’ve teamed up with Give Jewelry to give away up to $60 worth of jewelry! Click here to enter!

This entry was published on April 16, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Readers, Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Can You Really Take an Outfit from Day to Night?

  1. That necklace is so cute! Love the switch from day to night too.

  2. I think both are great! Comfortable and Chic!

  3. The jeans are perfect and the shoes are to die for! Sooo sooo cute! Found ya on the linkup
    Adrienne

What Do You Think?

