3 Tips for Organizing Your Bathroom

O is for Organization

I’m not an organization expert, but my bathroom is one of the most organized places in my home. Today, in honor of “O” in the A to Z challenge, I’m sharing a little bit of my bathroom organization with you.

Here are 3 tips for organizing your bathroom:

1. Declutter.

If you don’t currently use it and haven’t used it in 6 months, you probably won’t start. Toss it.

Now, I realize there may be a few exceptions to this. Like your dental floss, for example. If you’re like most of America, you probably only use that once every 6 months…right before your dentist appointment. I recommend you keep dental floss around. It’s good for you. Oh, and you should probably use it, but that’s a different post entirely.

Generally speaking, if you don’t use something, you shouldn’t just keep it around. It is taking up valuable real estate! My home is a 1920s bungalow, so space is at a premium. If I can’t remember the last time I used something, it has to go!

Note: I go through phases on this tip. Sometimes, I’m really good about throwing stuff out, and sometimes, I’m too busy to be bothered with it. However, I do think this is one of the most important things you can do when it comes to organization!

2. Group like things together.

I keep all of my manicure stuff in one spot. And my cotton products? They are together too. My makeup? Yep, all together. And my hair stuff – they have a home as well. I’ve found this tip so helpful because I know where to look when I need something.

I do make a few – only a few – exceptions to this rule. One, if it is something I use everyday and the other “like products” aren’t, I keep that one thing I use regularly in an easily accessible place. So, for example, I don’t need a new cotton round every day, so all of my cotton products are housed under my sink. However, I do use Q tips everyday, so those stay in the top drawer of my cabinet.

3. Never underestimate the value of a box, bowl, or plate.

Once you’ve decluttered and grouped like things together, I find it useful to arrange them in a way that makes the cabinet look more streamlined. I have a bowl full of hair ties and headbands that lives in a drawer with my hair products.

bathroom organization 3

I have a plate of my daily necessities: facial moisturizer and deodorant.

bathroom organization 1 - Copy

I have a shower caddy filled with the cleaning products I use in my bathroom. I’ll spare you the pic of my cleaning products. {You’re welcome.}

I have a basket of all the little “extras” I may need if I run out unexpectedly (e.g., deodorant, toothpaste, body wash).

So, again, I may not be an expert, but if you are looking for a weekend organization project, I think these 3 steps are a good place to start!

What are your tips for bathroom organization?

Linking up with Whatever, Whenever, Wednesday at Rolled Up PrettyWhatever Wednesday at Because Shanna Said So, and Whatever Works Wednesday at Small Town, Big Wardrobe + I’m participating in the A to Z challenge! Check it out!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Don’t forget! I’ve teamed up with Give Jewelry to give away up to $60 worth of jewelry! Click here to enter!

This entry was published on April 17, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What Do You Think?

