How Often Should You Clean Out Your Closet

P is for Possessions Fast

I don’t know about you, but I think about this question every now and then. I know I acquire new things. I know I have things that I no longer wear. But how often do I really take the time to clean out my closet?

Honestly, I try to clean it out every season, but sometimes, I fail at that. I’m sure there is a recommendation out there. What do you think? How often should you clean out your closet?

I ask because recently, I was challenged to take on a modified version of a possessions fast. It all started from this innocent little book called 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. A few friends read the book and took on the full challenge, which includes shopping at only 7 stores and restyling only 7 pieces of clothing, among other things…for 7 months. Meanwhile, you are going through your belongings and identifying 7 things each day that you can give away for an entire month. At the end of the month, that’s 210 items you can donate to others in need!

Currently, I’m going through my own closets and sorting through all of my clothes. At the end of April, I want to be able to say I purged 210 items from my closet!

possessions fast 3

But here’s the best part! I’m joining other local Chicagoans for a multi-family yard sale on May 4 where we are bringing all of our items together to raise money for clean water in Africa!

The organization we are donating through is Team World Vision. It gives runners an opportunity to use the sport they love to make an impact on the world. Read more about this organization here.

If you love what you read and want to make a donation, consider sponsoring my friend Wendy in her upcoming ultra marathon! That’s 54 miles, all in the name of World Vision and clean water for Africa! Click here to sponsor Wendy.

Phew! That was a lot of information! I am so excited to participate in this challenge and help raise money for such a good cause.

Would you participate in a possessions fast like this?
Or do you think I’m crazy?

I’m participating in the A to Z challenge! Check it out!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Don’t forget! I’ve teamed up with Give Jewelry to give away up to $60 worth of jewelry! Click here to enter!
Entries end tonight at 11:59 central.
Winner will be announced tomorrow!

This entry was published on April 18, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Just Me, Smart and Savvy...Chicago, Smart and Savvy...Faith and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “How Often Should You Clean Out Your Closet

  1. So proud of you for doing this! A lady in my bible study was just talking about that book a few weeks ago! I’m actually going to do a summer bible study with Jen Hatmakers book Makeover.

  2. Cathy on said:

    I think it sounds awesome!! We live in a bubble with so many luxuries and we forget some people don’t have water :[ God has been talking to me personally lately! Thanks for the morning conviction!

  3. Actually I think it sounds like a great idea. I actually kind of want to do one myself now.

    Happy A to Z blogging.
    pensuasion.blogspot.com

  4. It sounds cool, but also a little excessive for me. I do, however, like the idea of going through things every day and pulling 7 things to get rid of. A very interesting concept, that… and one I can easily do. I might just start that tonight!

  5. Pingback: Raise Money for Clean Water in Africa |

What Do You Think?

