Raise Money for Clean Water in Africa

W {-X} is for World Vision

Hello, everyone! And happy Friday! I have a very special post for you today! Several posts ago, I wrote about my mini possessions fast, which has been more like a possessions purge! I’m donating 7 items a day for 30 days to an upscale, multi-family yard sale. The proceeds from the yard sale help support two of my friends as they run an ultra marathon in the name of clean water for Africa.

My friend Wendy has a goal of raising $1,000 for every mile of the ultra marathon. That’s $54,000 for clean water in Africa! And I believe our blogging community can help get her there!

 Here’s how you can help:

  • Donate! If you have the financial means to support this cause, click here to sponsor Wendy. $50 provides water to 1 person in need. Can’t donate $50? That’s okay. Any amount is valued!
  • Promote! Friends, share this cause on your Facebook page or email it to friends and family. Bloggers, promote this cause on your blog pages and on Twitter. Encourage your network to learn more and find out how they too can be involved!
  • Pray! Pray for Wendy as she trains for and runs this marathon. Pray for this fundraising opportunity that God will use it to make an impact. Pray for the people of Africa who don’t have access to such a basic life essential, clean water.

Wendy is a powerhouse, and she is going to rock this ultra marathon. I hope we can all take the time to support her individually as well. Leave her notes of encouragement as she trains for this 54-mile race! To help you get to know Wendy, I’ve asked her a few questions. Her responses are below in italics.

inidyfinish3

{Indy Marathon – 4th place finish!}

1. How long have you been running?

I realized my love and talent for running as a kid during soccer and running the timed mile at school.  I was very active as a kid, from the time I was walking, always wanted to be playing outside and try every sport I could.  I  Used running to stay in shape for soccer, then found it a great coping mechanism for stress at home starting in junior high and certainly still to the present.  Ran my first marathon senior year in college at age of 21, and loved it!  Immediately realized it was something I wanted to do again and again.

2. Where did your love for running come from?

I guess I enjoy exercise, how it make my body feel Healthy and alive, as well as the tremendous mental benefits.  I can really clear my mind when I run, or think through a problem during a run, and generally have a solution afterwards, or the very least realize it’s no longer a problem because I am no longer stressed about it 🙂

photo (11)

3. Why run an ultra marathon?

I specifically read about the Comrades Ultra-marathon in 2005. I was intrigued by the challenge of it all, and thought maybe one day I would get the opportunity.  Then in 2010 World Vision sent their first team and I was asked to join 2010, 2011, 2012; each year didn’t work out, initially due to me training for a fast marathon of sub 3:00 and then getting pregnant and having my first child in fall 2011.  Finally when asked in summer 2012, after great prayer and discussion with my family, I felt very strongly that this was my once in a life time opportunity to attempt this awesome race I had dreamed of for 7 years.  

I knew it would be tough, but felt it would truly be possible with the support of team world vision team mates and the fact that I wasn’t just doing for myself.  I would be training for and completing this race for the purpose of having substantial impact on providing clean water access to those that desperately need it in Africa.  Three things have really brought this home for me and made it personal:  I attempted a 24 hour period without water to drink or use in any other way. That taught me how much I depend on this resource and made me feel much more miserable than I anticipated.  I sponsor two children through World Vision in each country I will be visiting (South Africa & Kenya), and knowing their story and having their picture with me makes me think about my son and how this could be him without water.   All of this gets me out of bed each morning, sometime before 4 am to run, when I would much rather sleep or spend time with my family.

4. Why World Vision?

My friend Anthony, who is also running the Comrades race and is my fundraising buddy, introduced me to the charity in 2010 when we developed a Chicago Marathon team.  Is sounded like a great cause, and each year I have been involved, the cause becomes more dear to my heart (As explained above).  World Vision is a Christian humanitarian organization providing poverty relief worldwide.  A big focus in Africa is on clean water projects since without this basic resource, especially women and children end up spending their entire day searing for water, which is often unclean.  World Vision employs the local population to design and build these projects generating a positive impact on the economy, and once water access occurs, children can go to school and women can have jobs to benefit their home.  The water born illness rate also significantly goes down.  

photo (10)

5. How can we help?

Support me in the journey to allow the greatest impact on increasing clean water access to people just like you and me in Africa.  You can support me financially as well as through prayer.  And, if you are moved and impacted by my journey then please tell others and let us raise the greatest amount possible.

~~

My husband and I are sponsoring Wendy in her efforts to raise money for clean water in Africa. Will you consider joining us?

How will you help?

I’m participating in the A to Z challenge! Check it out!

Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

This entry was published on April 26, 2013 at 7:27 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Faith, Smart and Savvy...Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Raise Money for Clean Water in Africa

  1. Wendy is my kind of gal! I ran a half marathon for a cause near and dear to my heart this past December. It was no ultra marathon, but it sure felt like it to me.

    Cheers from Brandy at http://brandysbustlings.blogspot.ca/

What Do You Think?

