Industry Insight: Polka Dots and Lace

My childhood friend, Katy, recently opened a boutique in Alabama. And trust me, if this boutique is anything like her, it is definitely fab! Katy has a larger than life personality, great style, and an entrepreneurial spirit! So, I started chatting with Katy about her new shop and we decided to do a little feature on the blog today!

I asked Katy several questions about her shop, sent my mom to the store to pick out something awesome for me to style for you, and coordinated with Katy for a special giveaway – just for you! {that’s right! keep reading!} First, let’s get to know Katy and her shop Polka Dots and Lace!

1. What is Polka Dots and Lace?

The name Polka Dots and Lace came from the theme of my wedding to the love of my life. I wanted to have a story behind the name that said a lot about me and what I value most.

We carry sizes Small-3XL. We also have some children’s things b/c we do monogramming. I like to think our clothes are in style. Not trendy. Trends fade. I like to carry classic pieces and a couple of the latest fads. We are starting to get shoes in, which is really exciting!! We also have jewelry. Lots of jewelry!! We have one of a kind pieces also. I love to support local talent!

IMG_2900

2. Where/when did you get the idea for your shop?

The idea for PDL started out just me looking for a place to open my own salon. The only thing I knew is that I wanted it to be in Headland {Alabama}. We looked at a couple of places around town and none of them really jumped out at me. Then a friend told us about the building we are currently in. I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to mix both things I love! Clothes and hair!! I’ve always said I wanted to have a boutique. That it would be the perfect job for me! So… We met with the owner of the building and it literally all just fell right into place. And now, 6 months later, here we are!!

3. What is the best part of having a shop like Polka Dots and Lace?

There are 2 things I love about owning PDL. Meeting the people is number 1. I love to hear what they are buying the clothes for or what they are having their hair done for. Most people stay and talk after they purchase their items or even if they don’t buy anything. Headland is such a tight knit community and I love getting to know the people that live here or just come to shop here. Number 2 is seeing people wearing my clothes! It’s so exciting!! It’s like “hey!!! That’s mine!!!!” Lets me know I’m doing something right!!

IMG_2896

4. What is your favorite piece that you currently have in stock? Why?

I think my fave piece in the store right now are our monogram items. These shirts and hats are so cute!! I wear them all the time!! And I think the quality of ours definitely stand out above the rest!

5. What is the most difficult part of having your own shop?

The most difficult part is buying the clothes. With Headland being a small town with lots of different people with lots of different styles, I can’t really take one certain trend and just run crazy with it! I have to have the trends, but I have to be careful about not overdoing them. I also try not to have a lot of the same things other boutiques in neighboring cities have. I want to stand out above the rest.

6. How has opening this shop challenged you and helped you grow?

Opening the shop has really helped my sense of community and family grow. I consider every person that walks through my door a friend. And some have even become close friends. I love the people here and I love helping them look their best! It’s also helped me realize the importance of family and how blessed I am to have the family that I do. They are very supportive and just all around wonderful! The main challenge is not letting it overwhelm me and my home life. I have realized that PDL work stays at PDL. Home is a place of peace for me and my family.

7. What advice do you have for others with a similar dream?

The best advice I could give to someone with a dream like mine is to work the  social network!! People love fb, Instagram, twitter, blogs, etc… You have to get your name out there as much as you can and stay active on those networks. You want to be a household name. You WANT people to go to your pages everyday and see what new things you have going on! Social media can make or break you. You also have to make sure that you treat every customer like they are the only one you have. Go above and beyond for all of them!! Even if they don’t buy something that first time, they will remember how helpful you were and more than likely will think of you first if they need something again.

IMG_2909 - Copy

{shirt, necklace, and earrings via Polka Dots and Lace}

I absolutely love the pieces I styled for this feature. The top just makes me happy, and I’ve already worn the accessories multiple times since receiving them!

polka dots and lace Giveaway

I’m so excited that I was able to introduce you to Katy from Polka Dots and Lace today! I hope you’ll check out her facebook page at the end of this post. In the meantime, Katy is graciously offering you the chance to win this beautiful statement necklace!

photo 1

I would love to see this piece paired with cobalt or yellow! How would you style it?

Enter to win:

Plus, now through Memorial Day, receive 20% off your purchase
in store or online with code SmartSavvy20!

So, which pieces from Polka Dots and Lace are your favorites?

THIS GIVEAWAY IS CLOSED.

Find me on:
Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Disclaimer: I received 20% off these products in exchange for this review. All opinions are my own.

Note: Emails are a necessity for the giveaway. If you do not include your email in your profile, a new winner will be selected. This giveaway is open to U.S. residents only. Giveaway ends Saturday, May 18, at 11:59 p.m. central time. Winner will be announced next Monday, May 20.

Linking up with The Pleated PoppyRolled Up Pretty Because Shanna Said So, and Small Town, Big Wardrobe + I’m participating in the trend of the month challenge at Marionberry Style!

This entry was published on May 15, 2013 at 8:33 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Shopping, Smart and Savvy...Style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “Industry Insight: Polka Dots and Lace

  1. I think I LOVE the mint zig zag dress best. 🙂

  2. Such a pretty top- and I love this interview. It’s always interesting to hear how things came to be.

  3. LOVE your top…and the earrings too! So dang pretty!

  4. I had a hard time picking just one fav! There was a Really cute turquoise top and a coral bib necklace that stand out as well as several dresses.

  5. I would use the necklace to dress up tank and cute denim shirt or with a cute dress. It looks like it will be nice and versatile!

    nikkisnacs@yahoo.com

  6. I like SSS on FB.

  7. The flared mint chevron zig zag skirt is so cute! Not my normal style but maybe that’s why it caught my eye.

  8. The necklace would look amazing with my black sheath dress. How classy and classic!

  9. I like SSS on Facebook

  10. I like SSS on Facebook 🙂 thestylefilesblog@gmail.com I’d style that necklace with a black or white top to make the necklace pop!

  11. elleseesyou on said:

    argh I wish I had a FB! cute pieces!!

  12. Pingback: Winner of the Polka Dots and Lace Giveaway! |

What Do You Think?

