How to Save Closet Space

Ever looked at an item in your closet and wonder whether you should fold it or hang it? Whether your concerns are space or wrinkles, I think we’ve all been there. That’s why I’ve asked Erin from Arranged by Erin to share some of her space saving ideas when it comes to hanging and folding clothes.

Erin is a professional organizer who helps individuals and businesses organize their lives. I think we could all use a little organization, so I’m excited about what Erin has to say today! I’ll let her take it away from here!

Should I fold it or hang it? What is the best way to store my precious wardrobe? How can I protect my clothes?  Do hangers matter?

These are just a few of the questions that I am constantly asked when I am organizing closets. After nine years, the questions are still the same. There is no right or wrong answer, a lot of your decision making depends on your space and visual needs.

HPIM1197

 

{photo courtesy of Arranged by Erin}

So let’s talk closet organizing!

  • SPACE– What type of space do you have? If you are lucky, you have a built in system in your closet. This will enable you to better categorize your clothes. Or you might have a sliding door closet with one rod and a shelf above it. Never fear, this type of closet can be organized with a few different tricks.
  • VISUAL VS NON VISUAL- Do you need to see everything you have? Are you comfortable with things in baskets or bins?
  • CATEGORIES- What types of clothes do wear?

Once you have answered these questions, you can begin to organize your closet. And to get back to our question of the day- should you hang or fold it?

WHAT SHOULD BE ON HANGERS!

  • Dresses
  • Skirts
  • Jackets
  • Suits
  • Dress Pants
  • Sweater Jackets-You know the big long kind-= much too bulky to fold
  • Dressy shirts

WHAT SHOULD BE FOLDED!

  • Hoodies
  • Work out wear
  • Jeans- Yes, ladies fold them! This will save so much space in your closet
  • Sweaters
  • Casual T Shirts
  • Tank Tops- These will fit nicely in a basket or bin
  • Scarves- don’t use those scarf hangers- they take up way too much space!!
  • Shorts

CLOTHING THAT COULD GO EITHER WAY

  • T shirts- Some t shirt material is okay to fold, other wrinkles too much
  • Sweaters- I personally fold my cardigans

For those of you that don’t have a compartmentalized closet, use that shelf above your rod. The best solution for this space is simple stacking shelves. They can be purchased at Container Store or Bed Bath and Beyond.  Or if you have space, a hanging sweater bag will help you. This is perfect for T shirts, work out wear, or thin sweaters.  Do not over stuff them.

And last but not least, let’s talk hangers. Yes, they do make a difference. I am a big fan of the huggle hangers. They not only create space but prevent sliding of clothes. You can purchase them all over the space. I would recommend not getting the cheap ones, as they will break. Your best bet is to purchase them from the container store, bed bath and beyond, or costco.

Happy Organizing!
Erin 

Thanks, Erin, for sharing these great tips! With small bungalow closets, I am always looking for ways to save space! And, apparently, I need to invest in new hangers. 🙂

What’s your biggest takeaway from Erin’s suggestions?
Is there anything you can implement right away?

Find me on:
Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest

Linking up with My Thrifty Chic for Anything and Everything

This entry was published on May 21, 2013 at 6:00 am. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “How to Save Closet Space

  1. My closet is a mess lol I hang up all the kids clothes which are on teeny tiny hangers so by the time I get to mine I just pick them out of the basket 🙂 (awful I know)

What Do You Think?

