Dressing for Your Shape: From My Closet to Yours

Before I get started on today’s post, I want to give a little shout out to Alicia from Fashion by Alicia. She hosts a Fashionista Friday event every month, and I am so thankful I was able to participate this month. Thanks, Alicia, for being a wonderful host of such a fun event!

Now, back down to business! 🙂 This week we looked at some of the “rules” for petites. I realize that sometimes rules are meant to be broken, but I think the tips I provided are a good framework for aspiring petite fashionistas to use when shopping.

Tip #1 involved using patterns to your advantage. If you are afraid patterns will shorten your lines, opt for patterns that are vertical, such as pin stripes. When in doubt, stick with solids in a single color. This doesn’t have to be boring! Have fun with it!

Tip #2 involved finding the perfect fit. This might mean shopping in the petites section, or it might mean having your clothes tailored to your body. You might have to try things on frequently and develop a love relationship with the full length mirror. Tip #2 takes time! That’s the key. But, if you love the end result, you’ll find it worth every second.

Here are some options that follow these guidelines:

Option #1: This outfit is a vertical patterned dress that is a great alternative to the boring ol’ pin stripe!

  • Style & Co. spaghetti strap printed ruffle bandeau maxi available at Macy’s for $34.50 here

Option #2: This outfit is based on the rule of solids. But, I admit I broke the rules a little here. I am breaking the rule because I think it works. I love the relaxed pant in a fun color paired with a shoe in fun pattern and similar color. I think it keeps the line going and adds a bit of whimsy.

  • LOFT basic scoop neck tee available for $16.50 here
  • LOFT structured linen trouser pant in sahara red available for $69.50 here
  • Unisa Abie print wedge pump in red available at DSW for $49.95 here

Option #3: This outfit does include that  basic pin stripe, but it’s a fun take on mixing various shades of the same color from head to toe!

  • J. Crew keeper chambray shirt available for $78 here
  • J. Crew paley pant in pinstripe super 120s available in navy for $128 here
  • J. Crew mona printed pumps in navy (with anchors!) available for $248 here

Now, you should note that I am not petite. You may completely disagree with these tips, and that’s okay! Leave additional tips in the comments section so that petite readers can have all the advice they could ever need! 🙂

Want to know more about these tips? They are based on research. Check out my sources below!

Fashion Tips for Petites at About.com

Fashion Tips for Petite Women at 365Hangers

The Best Fashion for Petites at Oprah.com

Will you be adding any of these petite pieces to your closet?

P.S. Bloggers, don’t forget tomorrow’s link up!

This entry was published on May 12, 2012 at 5:01 pm. It’s filed under Smart and Savvy...Shopping and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Dressing for Your Shape: From My Closet to Yours

  1. Diana on said:

    Being a petite myself, I certainly agree with your tips. Thank you. Another tip for pencil skirts, dresses or coats is to make sure they hit right above your knee. That will make them office appropriate and elongate your legs. Pair this with tan shoes for much more lengthening effect. 🙂

    Di
    http://cityandburbsblog.com

What Do You Think?